Help with the best way to build a conservatory dwarf wall

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

Over the past few weeks I've been renovating the rear of my property before installing a self build conservatory. Jobs already finished escalated in number, took longer than expected to complete and turned out to be costly, so I'm hoping to save some time and money when it comes to building the dwarf walls of the edwardian conservatory.

I've never built a full wall before (only repaired a pre-existing one) and I'm unsure what materials I can use to safely and cheaply build both skins of the cavity dwarf wall. I've had a good look around the net, youtube and in books but all advice tends to lean toward brick external skin and breeze block internal skin. Thing is, I'd already decided to render the external wall to suit the look of my house (I don't need the visual look of bricks) and so I was wondering if I could use breeze blocks or similar to build both the skins? The wall will be filled with a cavity insulation that I've already purchased.

I hope I've got this right ... there appears to be three basic type of breeze/aerated blocks available for wall building: Low, Medium and Dense density concrete? I guess the low density blocks are fine for the internal skin, but are any of the three suitable for building a solid external skin?

Thanks for reading and for your help.

Sponsored Links
Irrespective of whether you build from brick or block on the external skin, you will still need to show bricks on the bit of masonry that is below d.p.c. and above ground level.

For rendered finishes i would recommend using a lightweight aggregate block such as 'hemelites' or 'fibolites' as these have a high keying surface. Other lightweight blocks such as the aerated variety i.e. celcon or tarmac topbloc are not best suited for rendering.