Hi All, Newbie Here in midst of extension

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All

Was directed to this forum via our friendly neighbourhood google.

Anyhow, having used another forum for some years and more recently for questions regarding the extension to my home which I'm trying to project manage and attempt a lot of the manual labour work myself, its great to find this forum to ask my questions for the best advice.

Anyhow

Started excavation back in September 2014 for the footing for rear single story extension, full width of house and to the front of garage, bringing garage forward and reinforcing centre and rear garage pillars for steelwork to extend upwards too.

So far, its been slow going as I work away and try to get as much done as possible whilst home.

Im, looking for some advice for other parts of the build so will find the appropriate sub-forum to post in.

Anyway, glad to be here and look forward to the advice which will be gratefully received

Gary

Last edited:
Sponsored Links
looking good so far and welcome to the forum. You will get a lot of good advice here and some not so good but what I like about this forum is it's simple layout.

And if you are feeling brave, try the General Discussion :LOL:

Ha ha, cheers squeaky

There are worse forums out there for sure, only time (& advice) will tell :D

Sponsored Links
So, with SWMBO insisting that she does not want to move and my hopes of a double garage dashed (for now) I had to come up with a viable option to increase the size of our home without;
1) Annoying the neighbours too much
2) Make best use of the space available, considering it was a starter home when we bought it so size is somewhat limited.
3) Try my best to project manage it myself and do most the manual labour myself with the help of my father (who's a builder by trade but should have retire but won't) and family...

So plans submitted and after a few tense months of objections and a committee hearing, we received approval.