1. We are pleased to announce the 'Home Automation' forum. Click here to get involved!

Hotpoint wf540 washing machine flashing lights / fault

Discussion in 'Appliances' started by cazjaz, 5 Jan 2010.

  1. cazjaz

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norwich
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all
    I have a 2 year old Hotpoint WF540, everything was going fine then the flashing lights started.The machine goes through the wash phase and then when it gets to the rinse/spin cycle the machine will stop and the start & mini load lights will flash thats it will not go any further. This fault seems to only be on high spin cycle ie 1400 machine works ok and goes through full cycle start to finish on 800 spin (I have not tried it on any other spin cycles other than 800/1400)
    I have so far cleaned all the pipework checked for blockages, changed pump (I had a spare) but I still have the same problem
    Can anyone help please?
     
  2. rocks1

    Joined:
    30 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    5,949
    Thanks Received:
    1,007
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    f01 light 4, motor triac
    f02 light 3 motor, jammed/ tacho
    f03 lights 3&4 Ntc fault
    f04 light 2. pressure sw stuck on empty
    f05 lights 2&4, pressure sw stuck on full
    f06 lights 2&3, N/A?
    f07 lights 2&3&4 heater relay
    f08 light 1. heater relay
    f09 lights 1&4 eprom/setup error
    f10 lights 1&3, pressure switch not sensing
    f11 lights 1&3&4, pump/draining error
    f12 lights 1&2, communication error
    f13 lights 1&2&4, dryer ntc/ fan motor
    f14 lights 1&2&3, dryer heater
    f15 lights 1&2&3&4, dryer heater relay
    f16 N/A
    f17 light 4, door lock
    f18 light 3 comms error (3 phase motor) power board

    f1 and f17 share the same light
     
  3. cazjaz

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norwich
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Rocks1
    Thanks for your reply,
    Sorry I am being a bit thick! how do I tell which light is which by your description?
     
  4. rocks1

    Joined:
    30 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    5,949
    Thanks Received:
    1,007
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    out of the 5 lights on the left witch one is flashing then ill tell you the code
     
  5. cazjaz

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norwich
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Its the fourth one down / mini load light
     
  6. rocks1

    Joined:
    30 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    5,949
    Thanks Received:
    1,007
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    that means fo1 motor triac on the pcb .check that the wires are firmly on the pcb if this ok then pcb needs replacing recon pcb from here.http://www.emwelec.co.uk/index.php
     
  7. cazjaz

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norwich
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks Rocks1
    Sounds like you know your stuff!!! I will let you know how I get on
     
  8. cazjaz

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norwich
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Again!
    Well Rocks1 I hope you are watching this post maybe you can help me again? I thought I would check the bushes on the motor before I ordered a new board. Well I took them off and had a look everything looked fine so I put them back, but when I started the washing machine up to check it the machine started lasted about 20 seconds and then stopped bringing up another fault (third light down on my machine) f02 light 3 motor, jammed/ tacho I thought well get another board as I have tried everything else. I bought a refurbished board from emwelec as you suggested it arrived today only for me to fit it to find I still have the fault f02 light 3 motor, jammed/ tacho. If only I had just left it alone!!!!! and done what you said in the first place. what have I done! please help!
     
  9. rocks1

    Joined:
    30 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    5,949
    Thanks Received:
    1,007
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Check the motor brushes are in properly and the motor connector block has no Broken wires on it is it connected to the PCb tight
     
  10. cazjaz

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norwich
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for your reply Rocks,
    I think I may have to check the motor brushes again why dont I just stick to fixing cars!!!
    I will try to have another look tonight but it is getting late and its time to read the bed time stories to my girls. If I dont get back to you I will post a reply tomorrow night when I have checked the brushes. once again THANK YOU.
     
  11. cazjaz

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norwich
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well I have checked the motor brushes again, fired the old machine up and hey presto lights one and two are now flashing communication error! it wont be long before I have had all the error codes available why did I say to the missus dont worry I can fix it!
     
  12. rocks1

    Joined:
    30 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    5,949
    Thanks Received:
    1,007
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Unplug it for 1 min also check the first blue wires on pcb again always coming loose
     
  13. cazjaz

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norwich
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Rocks
    Done what you said everything looks fine checked brushes, checked blue wiring, everything looks fine I turn on the machine and it does not want to know, could it be a dodgy board?
     
  14. rocks1

    Joined:
    30 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    5,949
    Thanks Received:
    1,007
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    what does it do ,nothing or still f12.
     
  15. cazjaz

    Joined:
    5 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norwich
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    just f12 when you press the on button
     

Share This Page