House Project

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Well having used these and many other forums fairly extensively over the last year (mainly searching and reading old posts!) I though it was about time to put up a couple of photos.

I bought the house two years ago this month, having graduated from uni a few months before. I work in IT, with my only real experience being helping out my Dad from doing similar things, so I've no doubt things have me a lot longer than perhaps they should - it's certainly been a steep and often unknown learning curve. But, with the help of two sets of parents (mine and my partners before you ask!) it's slowly getting there...

This was the kitchen shortly after moving in, note the lack of hallway by the front door, thankfully still with holes in the floor and ceiling ready for it to be put back in :)

View media item 3978
View media item 3979
View media item 3980
View media item 3981
View media item 3982
View media item 3984
I gave up trying to get the tiles off the plasterboard and found it was a lot simpler to simply cut out the plasterboard and replace it with new stuff, especially when all of the edges would be covered by tiles.

View media item 3985
View media item 3986
View media item 3987
View media item 3988
View media item 3989
And finally a couple of pictures showing what it was like last Christmas, almost finished.

View media item 3990
View media item 3991

Sponsored Links
Also Why do you need a radiator under the stairs?

Sponsored Links
Hi Shortplank,

Looking very very nice indeed mate, for someone who hasn't had a lot of experience I think you've done a very good first time job.

It's just a shame that like yourself there are quite a few people on here that are not into DIY as a trade but like to feel like they have accomplished something by doing it themselves. They feel very proud about it and it makes them feel good to show it off to other people, so they post it here.