How to be a good customer ...

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,

Uanble to rely on recommendations I am having to plunge my toe into the murky work of Yellow Pages for a builder.

I have read the comments on here about troublesome customers - so bearing in mind I am a novice/ignorant regarding the building work I need done how do I go about getting he best from 'my builder' and their quote whilst ensuring that everything is covered and no little bits get added on.

All advice welcome.

Heidi

Sponsored Links
Mattylad you forgot 'free use of the phone' ;)

Ask and expect a written quotation for a start and not an 'estimate'..a quotation is more of a fixed price.

Ask him to itemise the work you want doing so your both clear on whats to be done..and equally important whats NOT to be done.

Dont ask him to separate labour and materials, it can put some peoples backs up...after all, your more or less asking him what he earns.

Agree payments, how much and how often.

If he says he needs money up front for materials..ditch him, any tradesman worth their salt should have a credit account.

Ask what needs to be moved...nothing worse than walking into a job and the customer hasnt bothered to shift a thing ..you often get the 'i forgot you were coming'...yeh right, they wouldnt have forgot if you hadnt have turned up beleive me!..in customer speak this means 'im paying you..you move it'

Make sure he or she has insurance and ask to see it, again a decent tradesman will offer it.

Haggling..its up to you, personally you might be better to tell the builder you want a straight price, no knock odwn discounts on the night, no gettng back to you with a better deal or matching someone else price..explain to them that you have told the other people quoting for the job the same thing. If they say '£xx.xx how does that sound' on the night they are probably waiting for you to knock them down, thus..thy have 'stuck a bit on'..just say you'll let them know.