1. We are pleased to announce the 'Home Automation' forum. Click here to get involved!

how to isolate fuse box power

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by dynamite40, 15 Aug 2008.

  1. dynamite40

    Joined:
    24 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi all a friend has asked me to fit a fuse to his fuse box a wylex nhrs6604
    how do you isolate the supply to this box and also what fuse does he need
    many thanks
     
  2. Spark123

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2005
    Messages:
    14,380
    Thanks Received:
    424
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is this for real?
     
  3. comms

    Joined:
    13 Nov 2004
    Messages:
    882
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A wind up I'm sure, but to humour you.
    Drop the red switch (main switch) down, this will isolate the whole board.
    AS for the mcb you need I haven't got a clue as you've not said what the circuit will be for.

    But if you are asking this type of question I'd advise you leave well alone & get a sparks in.
     
  4. securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    25,890
    Thanks Received:
    489
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    HANG ON!!

    He says "how do you isolate the supply to this box"...

    You can't, without an isolation switch OUTSIDE the consumer unit.
     
  5. flyingsparks

    Joined:
    27 Sep 2004
    Messages:
    1,127
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Totally unbelieveable.. :rolleyes: ..how more people dont kill themselves doing things they are obviously better off staying well away from, I don't know - or do we just not hear about it... :confused:
     
  6. lazygit

    Joined:
    5 May 2007
    Messages:
    119
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why did your friend ask you to do it??
    Your obviously as clueless as they are :confused:
     
  7. mattysupra

    Joined:
    30 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    2,234
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  8. Pens

    Joined:
    17 Jan 2006
    Messages:
    2,437
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think it's for real. I've just read his last two posts which in his world makes him qualified to move onto bigger and better things. :eek:
     
  9. kkynaston

    Joined:
    18 Dec 2007
    Messages:
    319
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Maybe this is the same guy we had here some time ago that "moved" his incoming supply with the kit his mate the meter man gave him :confused: remember that one everyone ;)
     
  10. mattysupra

    Joined:
    30 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    2,234
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    maybe you can find that post, sounds a intresting read!
     
  11. kkynaston

    Joined:
    18 Dec 2007
    Messages:
    319
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'll have a look although I think it was deleted
     
  12. kkynaston

    Joined:
    18 Dec 2007
    Messages:
    319
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  13. mattysupra

    Joined:
    30 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    2,234
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    good work, i will have a read !
     
  14. mattysupra

    Joined:
    30 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    2,234
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    im not a spark but i know the basics and this was unreal! Let me get this right that they extended the tails backed by a 60amp fuse, 20meters with 6mm cable?
     
  15. dynamite40

    Joined:
    24 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    lets get the story right then you all can finish having your laugh and move on to some other mug
    what i ment to ask was
    a friend of mine has just fitted a shower and he has asked me if i can fit a fuse to his fuse box and also what amp fuse should be fitted
    i also ment to say how do you isolate the power to the fuse box because i was told that the meb has to remove there main fuse
    i am not doing this job for him i was just after a straight answer because he wont listen when i tell him i cant turn the power off to his fuse box
     

Share This Page