how to isolate fuse box power

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by dynamite40, 15 Aug 2008.

  1. dynamite40

    Joined:
    24 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi all a friend has asked me to fit a fuse to his fuse box a wylex nhrs6604
    how do you isolate the supply to this box and also what fuse does he need
    many thanks
     
  2. Spark123

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2005
    Messages:
    14,386
    Thanks Received:
    424
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is this for real?
     
  3. comms

    Joined:
    13 Nov 2004
    Messages:
    882
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A wind up I'm sure, but to humour you.
    Drop the red switch (main switch) down, this will isolate the whole board.
    AS for the mcb you need I haven't got a clue as you've not said what the circuit will be for.

    But if you are asking this type of question I'd advise you leave well alone & get a sparks in.
     
  4. securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    25,997
    Thanks Received:
    501
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    HANG ON!!

    He says "how do you isolate the supply to this box"...

    You can't, without an isolation switch OUTSIDE the consumer unit.
     
  5. flyingsparks

    Joined:
    27 Sep 2004
    Messages:
    1,138
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Totally unbelieveable.. :rolleyes: ..how more people dont kill themselves doing things they are obviously better off staying well away from, I don't know - or do we just not hear about it... :confused:
     
  6. lazygit

    Joined:
    5 May 2007
    Messages:
    119
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why did your friend ask you to do it??
    Your obviously as clueless as they are :confused:
     
  7. mattysupra

    Joined:
    30 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    2,234
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  8. Pens

    Joined:
    17 Jan 2006
    Messages:
    2,437
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think it's for real. I've just read his last two posts which in his world makes him qualified to move onto bigger and better things. :eek:
     
  9. kkynaston

    Joined:
    18 Dec 2007
    Messages:
    319
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Maybe this is the same guy we had here some time ago that "moved" his incoming supply with the kit his mate the meter man gave him :confused: remember that one everyone ;)
     
  10. mattysupra

    Joined:
    30 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    2,234
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    maybe you can find that post, sounds a intresting read!
     
  11. kkynaston

    Joined:
    18 Dec 2007
    Messages:
    319
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'll have a look although I think it was deleted
     
  12. kkynaston

    Joined:
    18 Dec 2007
    Messages:
    319
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  13. mattysupra

    Joined:
    30 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    2,234
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    good work, i will have a read !
     
  14. mattysupra

    Joined:
    30 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    2,234
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    im not a spark but i know the basics and this was unreal! Let me get this right that they extended the tails backed by a 60amp fuse, 20meters with 6mm cable?
     
  15. dynamite40

    Joined:
    24 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    lets get the story right then you all can finish having your laugh and move on to some other mug
    what i ment to ask was
    a friend of mine has just fitted a shower and he has asked me if i can fit a fuse to his fuse box and also what amp fuse should be fitted
    i also ment to say how do you isolate the power to the fuse box because i was told that the meb has to remove there main fuse
    i am not doing this job for him i was just after a straight answer because he wont listen when i tell him i cant turn the power off to his fuse box
     

Share This Page