1. We are pleased to announce the 'Home Automation' forum. Click here to get involved!

Illuminated Door Bell Push

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by finster, 7 Oct 2006.

  1. finster

    Joined:
    7 Oct 2006
    Messages:
    60
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all,

    I want to replace my old battered plastic illuminated bell push with a stainless steel one.

    I've managed to find one here : http://www.alertelectrical.com/Door...-Bell-Pushes/Illuminated-Chrome-Bell-Push.asp but from what I can work out it runs at 8 volts.

    I've had the multimeter out on mine, and it seems to be 13.8v (it's an old Friedland transformer).

    Anybody know if this one will work, or do I need to look for a different bell push or transformer?

    Thanks.
     
  2. breezer

    Joined:
    3 Jan 2003
    Messages:
    23,326
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    where does it say its 8 volts?

    also that type of button uses the bell coil to limit the voltage, so in other words try it and see
     
  3. finster

    Joined:
    7 Oct 2006
    Messages:
    60
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the reply - it doesn't actually say 8 volts but the assosciated transformer on the right is 8v, and all transfomers I can find are also 8v.

    Just wondered if the bulb that fits it would blow at a higher voltage....

    Thanks.....
     
  4. breezer

    Joined:
    3 Jan 2003
    Messages:
    23,326
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    as i said try it and see, this is becuse your door bell itself will limit the current and so in turn the voltage will drop
     
  5. Jaymack

    Joined:
    28 May 2005
    Messages:
    305
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Moray
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Amazing what you will find if you search: - From a web site on the bell push byron 4217.

    Bell Pushes are solid brass and can be used with existing door bell systems. Lighted Bell Pushes cannot accept more than 12 volts from a transformer, nor can they be used with a battery powered bell.

    This should be OK for your existing Friedland system, the transformer voltage that you measure is higher, since it is measured on open circuit!

    Jaymack
     
  6. finster

    Joined:
    7 Oct 2006
    Messages:
    60
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks - do you think I am better off getting my multimeter out and checking whilst the button is pressed to confirm that it's less than 12v??

    I suppose I could just buy the flipping thing - it's just a bit of hassle ordering it, paying postage & returning it if chances are it won't work...
     
  7. Steve

    Joined:
    15 Apr 2005
    Messages:
    16,005
    Thanks Received:
    226
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    just buy it! When you put an appliance (bell and bulb) across a transformer its output voltage drops!

    What does your transformer say on it? Most bell systems are 8 volts AFAIK.
     
  8. Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    13,743
    Thanks Received:
    1,228
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Also it is 8v AC. You may be seeing more on your meter if you've selected DC? Just a thought......


    TTC
     
  9. finster

    Joined:
    7 Oct 2006
    Messages:
    60
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Now I'm confused... I've managed to climb up and look at the transfomer - it's a Friedland 752 - it says "Primary 240v, Secondary 3-5-8v 1.0A". Presumably this means that it can supply the required 8 volts?

    Why would it supply different voltages, I'm just curious....
     
  10. breezer

    Joined:
    3 Jan 2003
    Messages:
    23,326
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yes


    differnt door bells
     
  11. securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    25,875
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Usually, tx's like this supply different voltages depending upon which terminals you connect the secondary conductors to.
     
  12. finster

    Joined:
    7 Oct 2006
    Messages:
    60
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks,

    I'll take the cover off and have a look inside and see if there are different terminals....

    Push button ordered now so I'll wait and then see what I can do....
     

Share This Page