Indesit WD12S dial-spinning and flashes

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
My Indesit WD12S will start a wash but then stop at a random point and the dial will click around. The last time it did this I saw 13 LED flashes which I read indicates a drier fault BUT the drier wasn't in use --- this was during the wash itself. The drier dial was set to OFF (I rarely use it).

This fault can happen five minutes after the wash starts, or at any time afterwards. It seems to happen only during the actual wash, and not the rinse or spin. IN fact, at first I thought it was happening at the point it usually clicks around to the rinse cycle.

I've checked the drainage hose, and it seems clear. I can "finish" the wash by manually switching the machine to rinse, so it's emptying fine. I checked the filter (bottom right) and it's clean.

Indesit's helpline reckoned it's a damaged EEPROM but I read in other messages here that it might be the pressure switch. I'm new to washing machine repair, so where is that located, and how can I test it?

If it's any help, it looks like the "quick" wash cycle (no 8 on the dial) works fine.

I've had the machine for about six years, I think, and it's been faultless. If it has any bearing, for the first time a week or two ago, I tried the "600 RPM" switch. This is the first time I've ever used it (normally it's just a 40 degree "program 4" wash). Might this have caused it? It also had a nasty spin a week or so ago, where it thumped on the ground.

Any help appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Further to the above....

I've had a good look inside the machine by taking the top off and nothing appears to have become disconnected. Nothing appears to have burned out.

I did find a plastic object loose inside the machine. It looks like a short candle. I've attached a photo. I can't see any other objects like it inside.

[/img]

Further to the above again, and possibly vitally important this time.