Installing a Neff oven

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by pearsad, 17 Mar 2012.

  1. pearsad

    Joined:
    17 Mar 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    First post on the forum so please go easy if I miss out some info!

    I am going to be wiring a new Neff oven to the existing cable that the old oven was connected to. I have removed the wires from the old oven and all 3 have a metal end attached which were slid over metal plates to make the connection (as far as I can see).

    Looking at the back of the new oven there are 2 small metal plates that look like the Live and Neutral would slide over as in the old oven. The earth however just has a screw so I think I will need to cut this metal clip off, strip back the wire, and wrap around the earth screw before clamping down.

    Just wanted to make sure I am going about this the right way before I do it.

    (out of interest, I woul have just paid for them to connect it for me but apparantly the cable isn't quite wide enough to meet their specifications to install. The guy said it would be fone to do myself though, he was basically just covering himself).

    Any help would be much appreciated.

    Many thanks
    Adam
     
  2. Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    13,793
    Thanks Received:
    1,236
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What size is the "COOKER" fuse in your fusebox/consumer unit?
    What size is the cable coming from the wall to the cooker? There is a very rough guide here http://www.diynot.com/wiki/electrics:cable_types:flatpvccables
    What is the rating of the oven - there will be a rating plate inside the door or on the back of the oven.?
    IS it a single or double oven?
    The existing cable, how does it attach to the wall?
     
  3. pearsad

    Joined:
    17 Mar 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks.

    The fuse is 32A
    The cable is 2.5mm
    The only rating I can see is 'A' if that's what you need
    It's a single
    The cable goes behind the kitchen units and tiles and goes to the switch on the wall.
     
  4. chivers67

    Joined:
    18 Nov 2008
    Messages:
    397
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Surrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just to clarify one 2.5mm on 32 amp you say?

    Have you the model number if you can't find the wattage rating of the cooker?
     
  5. pearsad

    Joined:
    17 Mar 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The guy said it was a 2mm cable and looking at the link and measuring the cable that seems to be the one. The fuse in the fuse box for the cooker is a B32 so 32A.

    The model is a B14M42N0GB which had a total connected load of 2.85KW according to the website.
     
  6. holmslaw

    Joined:
    12 Dec 2006
    Messages:
    5,841
    Thanks Received:
    400
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  7. chivers67

    Joined:
    18 Nov 2008
    Messages:
    397
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Surrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you any other fuses you could use as Holms has pointed out?
     
  8. sparkiemike

    Joined:
    10 Oct 2008
    Messages:
    284
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What kind of fault - the new oven is rated at 2.65kW, the old oven was probably about the same, this load is unlikley to result in the 2.5mm T&E carrying any overload current, see reg 433.3.1.

    Unless it is a very long circuit (more than 30m ), fault current will probably be OK even with a 30A fuse.
     
  9. EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    11,856
    Thanks Received:
    1,340
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Does that mean it's an oven on a ring final spur?
     
  10. chivers67

    Joined:
    18 Nov 2008
    Messages:
    397
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Surrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Iz ≥ In ?
     
  11. holmslaw

    Joined:
    12 Dec 2006
    Messages:
    5,841
    Thanks Received:
    400
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  12. sparkiemike

    Joined:
    10 Oct 2008
    Messages:
    284
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That is because this location is does not present a fire risk or risk of explosion - it is not a garage forecourt or saw mill.

    The reason for the "probablies" is that we don't have the full picture!

    I can't be 100% sure of the size of the old oven
    I don't know the EFLI values to be sure of fault protection.

    Nevertheless I don't see the 2.65kW oven overloading the 2.5mm T&E.
     
  13. holmslaw

    Joined:
    12 Dec 2006
    Messages:
    5,841
    Thanks Received:
    400
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  14. sparkiemike

    Joined:
    10 Oct 2008
    Messages:
    284
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I will concede that its not the way I would design it, however if I came across it during an inspection I would not immediate condemn it as a fire risk.
    Just about any electrical load generates some kind of heat and constitutes a fire risk if not designed properly.

    However To quote the reg in question
    As I interpret it is applies to locations or special installations, not all fixed wiring or electrical appliances.

    The second part that I was reffering to does allow for the ommission of overcurrent if the type of load means that the cable will not be overloaded.

    So if I have "misunderstood" the above reg then please explain your interpretation.

    Of course MI for the oven may specify the cable size and overcurrent protection in which case all the above is hypothetical
     
  15. holmslaw

    Joined:
    12 Dec 2006
    Messages:
    5,841
    Thanks Received:
    400
    Country:
    United Kingdom

Share This Page