installing an outside light....easy for a nearly novice.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
bought an outside light which i thought was solar powered but its not.

im not a complete novice with electrics....i have run extra sockets from another socket, changed light switches, but thats about it.

im also looking to make as little mess as possible.

i have a plan ! but wanted to run it by someone who knows what their doing first.

on the wall i wish to install it, there is already a sky cable running through the wall, say a foot or so from the floor. i plan to use this hole to put the cable through, save drilling another. inside the house there is a plug socket just 2 feet away that has very little/no use.

can i wire up the cable direct to a plug and just plug it in the socket ?

or run the cable inside, then up the wall to a switch then back down the wall wired to a plug ?

or as above and wired properly into the circuit via the plug socket ?

i have a real of cable left over in the house. which im 99% sure is up to the job, its the same size as lighting cable, but not sure if i can use this externally as it would be open to the elements for a good 2/3 meters running up the outside of the house to the light.

thanks in advance for the advice guys !

Sponsored Links
You can cable to a plug (with a 3 Amp fuse in it) to power the light.
You could run this through a switch if unplugging it is too difficult.

You should NOT use the same hole as the SKY cable. You'll need another hole at least 50mm from the SKY cables.

You should NOT use PVC twin & earth cable outside as a couple of summer suns and winter frosts will degrade the cable and it will fall apart.

Use rubber cable if it is to be surface clipped outside.

You can buy a few metres at most "sheds"

thanks for the advice taylor.