Installing gas hob

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by John2512_00, 17 Apr 2006.

  1. John2512_00

    Joined:
    17 Apr 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all, im new to these forums, Im just out my apprenticip as a domestic gas engeneer. CORGI registered (you wouldnt think i was wi these questins lol) I usualy work on CH Systems, repair and service mostly.

    But ive never had to work on or install a gas hob before, apart from the cooker in the ACS

    Was just checking, the gas hob should be connected by ridgid pipe and not a flexi cooker hose is that right ?

    cheers folks

    Hope I can start helping folk wi there CH questions and get some knowlege off the guys that have been in the industry a while.
     
  2. DP

    DP

    Joined:
    10 Dec 2003
    Messages:
    7,128
    Thanks Received:
    899
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This topic has made waves. Very big ones. Topic had been hammered to death.

    I would plumb it in 15mm copper and install a stop valve. Would never use a hose (even if maker's instructioned allowed it).

    Matter of pride.
     
  3. corgiman

    Joined:
    25 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    10,650
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Location:
    Surrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    DP is right

    am not going to comment re the rubber hose as we have done that to death

    Copper is the pro way. :)

    good luck mate hope it all goes well with you and your shiney new badge :)
     
  4. bripl

    Joined:
    14 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    771
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    to connect a gas hob rigid pipe is the only way to do it,have never used a hose for a hob and never will
     
  5. Gasguru

    Joined:
    9 Sep 2005
    Messages:
    7,146
    Thanks Received:
    1,236
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Go for copper - even if hob manufacturer allows it - hose manufacturer almost certainly won't ie ambient temperature too high, contact with oven, unable to hang as a U
     
  6. ollski

    Joined:
    8 Oct 2003
    Messages:
    5,001
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes unless instructed otherwise by manufacturer's instructions.
     
  7. John2512_00

    Joined:
    17 Apr 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    klkl Cheers guys,

    Just been round and fitted it with 15mm Copper and a stop valve.

    It was actually my friend that i was fitting it for wanted the hose but i just told him no.

    Anyway Ill get on to using the search button soon so as not to bring up teh same stuff all the time.


    Thanks
    J
     
  8. kevplumb

    Joined:
    18 May 2004
    Messages:
    23,670
    Thanks Received:
    919
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    err i done mine in 22 mm HEP with a stop cock fitted and it dosen't leak is this wrong :LOL: :LOL: ;)
     
  9. corgiman

    Joined:
    25 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    10,650
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Location:
    Surrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    dont forget the everflux you use dad

    and that blowlamp you use for checking leaks!


    ( I AM KIDDING DONT DO THIS)

    :LOL:
     
  10. JPC

    JPC

    Joined:
    10 Aug 2004
    Messages:
    1,568
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Leicester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    kev...corgiman...thx both...thats how you do it.

    so its ok to use the blowlamp on the hep pipe to check for leaks..great thx

    ;)
     
  11. ChrisR

    Joined:
    24 Jul 2003
    Messages:
    23,651
    Thanks Received:
    1,156
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't use 15mm any more, microbore is so much quicker, and a damn site easier if the oven undeneath is tight at the top back.
    The drop on a short piece of even 8mm is insignificant. 10mm will go a long way. Compression fitting-reducers are very handy, use the gas cock and one of then to get down from iron or 15 or whatever.
    You do need to stock a few fittings for the ends, some hobs needing 3/8" iron connectors etc.
     
  12. Soggy_weetabix

    Joined:
    20 Dec 2005
    Messages:
    1,639
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So can I assume the rubber tube off me u guage and a couple of jubilee clips is not right? Check for leaks with me lighter and if nothing ignites, i do a cut rate deal of 300 quid!

    I hope corgi have been notified of a gas appliance install in all seriousness.

    David
     
  13. corgiman

    Joined:
    25 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    10,650
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Location:
    Surrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    :LOL:

    and top point soggy
     
  14. kevindgas

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    5,715
    Thanks Received:
    469
    Location:
    Southampton
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it will probably be the first hob notified if he has
     
  15. ChrisR

    Joined:
    24 Jul 2003
    Messages:
    23,651
    Thanks Received:
    1,156
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    HObs are hard to install properly! Their gas supply is usually teed off the feed to an old boiler so they don't get 20mbar when the boiler's on. It's often way down, so the job's half an hour for the hob and half a day for a new gas line.
    But if you ( I mean, I) do a Landlords gas check on a hob installed on 16mbar, it's just " Not to current Standard" which is good enough. Barmy.
     

Share This Page