Is my garage an electrical deathtrap?! Advice Please!

R

RhysJames2008

Hi all,

First of all I'd like to announce that I am not an electrician, I just change plugs, sockets, light switches and the simple stuff.

I was looking at my spotlight today as it hasn't worked for some time. Having check the connections going into the spotlight I found they were fine.

So I decided to trace its supply, and I traced it back to a double light switch (theres another spotlight on the other switch), which was connected to a Fused 13A switch, which in turn was connected to a single surface-mounted socket, which has a surprisingly thick twin and earth cable coming from the wall.

Is this lighting configuration okay?

This is the worrying part... in addition to the lights running from the socket, theres also another single socket coming from that first single socket... and if thats not enough, theres ANOTHER single socket wired into that second single socket.

Ive attached a little diagram that I made on Paint to explain things.

I just want to know if this is safe. I've heard stuff about spurs and rings but I dont know what that is so I don't want to go messing with them because i dont know if the previous guy knew what he was doing.

Kindest Regards
Rhys James

Sponsored Links
As far as the lights are concerned, not a problem, as long as a 3 or 5 amp fuse is used in it. You may however have an issue with spurring-off-a-spur with the sockets.

You say the feed to the socket is wired in surprisingly thick cable, was this supply intended for a cooker or shower at one time?

In which case, have the additional sockets been connected up with the same thinkness of cable and what rating of fuse/MCB is protecting this feed back at your consumer unit?

A couple of pictures would enable use to give you a better view. Plus, we all love pictures.

Yeah I like pictures too :D Ill try and get some tomorrow when I get home before it gets dark.