Is there a standard job specification for carrying out a Powerflush?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello guys,
I'm choosing a contractor to carry out a Powerflush as CH flow is poor on the ground floor of my 3 floor townhouse The boiler (12 months old) is on first floor, 3 way valve and pump (both 18 months old) are in airing cupboard on second floor.
We had a Powerflush carried out about 4 years ago for the same reason, but the guys doing the job never removed any radiators and there was no evidence that they'd treated the water with any inhibitor when they'd finished. I'm no expert, and I only found out later that this is normally considered part of the job.
Are there any standard specifications for what work should be done for a Powerflush, so that I can I ask the company to confirm they will be working to this standard when they quote for the job?

Sponsored Links
You wouldn't normally remove radiators as part of a powerflush, just flush them individually by turning all except one off and moving around the house doing one at a time (but with the machine staying in the same location, normally attached to the pump) Inhibitor should definitely be added at the end of the job, and the job would normally take an entire day

Thanks muggles - if they're not removing the radiators, what else are they doing for the job to take all day?

Turning valves on and off - you leave the radiators connected, turn every one except the one you want to flush off, when that's flushed properly, turn the next one on and go back to turn the first one off. Repeat until all rads are done. Typically 10-15 mins per rad

Sponsored Links
If you want a good description of how its supposed to be done, look at the Kamco web site (http://www.kamco.co.uk/GuidanceNotes/PDF/CF30Instructions.pdf).