Is this condensation Damp, or somethiong more sinister?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom

Hi,

I was wandering if anyone could tell me there thoughts on this. As you can see in the picture there is a patch of dampness across the top of my skirting board in my hall way. The wall is a rendered sandstone wall and is has no external faces (ie internal wall).
The patch just seems to have come from nowhere. Which leaves me to suspect it is condensation.
The weather has been relatively damp of late and as the temperature is falling the heating is kicking back into life.

But, I am no professional and cannot be sure. So I would appreciate your thoughts, and if anyone knows a way to prove what type of dampness it is that would be great!

(On a side note, I have been in the house over 12years and never seen this before.)

Many Thanks

Sponsored Links
Leaking pipe in floor.

Take up the floor covering and look.

Is floor concrete or wood?

Is there a radiator or sink on the other side of the wall?

Edit
Ah, I see a radiator next to the damp patch.

Thanks for the reply. I don t think it's a pipe, as there are no services meat that wall except for the radiator. But as I have a combination boiler and the pressure is steady I don't think that is leaking.
The wall is also solid and there are no signs of crumbling etc. I have checked the other side of the wall and there is no sign of dampness there???

Sponsored Links
I have something similar in an internal wall.

We have lots of damp soil under the floor (probably dumped there by cowboy conservatory builders about 14 years ago). The wall doesn't look to have a DPM in it either.

View media item 77341

if the damp patch has suddenly appeared, there is a source of water. If you are in a semi or terrace it might be next door.

you say it is an inside wall so will not be a splashing gutter or leaking downpipe. Faint chance of rain penetration underfloor if you are on a hill.