Joining carpets: job for newbie?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am planning to recarpet the spare room, approx 3m x 3m. So I visited a few carpet shops at the weekend, hoping to find a cheapo roll-end or remnant carpet that might fit. No luck, and anyway I probably couldn't fit a 3m x 3m piece of carpet in my hatchback. It would require delivery. More cost and a day off work. Not in my "project plan"!

* I'm a carpet layer newbie -- is it easy to do a neat job using 2 strips of carpet, using carpet tacks where they meet? A large rug will go over the carpet, so I don't need a *really* neat job.

* Another option is carpet tiles -- easily transportable and easy to lay. Question: do I need to remove the "gripper strip" prior to laying carpet tiles?

Thanks
Mike

Sponsored Links
mike004 said:
* I'm a carpet layer newbie -- is it easy to do a neat job using 2 strips of carpet, using carpet tacks where they meet? A large rug will go over the carpet, so I don't need a *really* neat job.
If it's a rubber back carpet, they use carpet glue spray or hessian back carpet is normally sown together.

mike004 said:
* Another option is carpet tiles -- easily transportable and easy to lay. Question: do I need to remove the "gripper strip" prior to laying carpet tiles?
Yes, as they have a rubber backing they don't move. Wear heavy duty glove when removing gripper, it can be quite painful :!:

Thanks for your reply.

In a previous house I lived in, the stair carpet had a join at the stair landing which seemed to have been done by folding and tacking.
It looked OK -- probably because the carpet pile was "fluffy" and the seam was the width of the passage-way.

Depend how fussy you are :!: The problem with carpet tacks on the join, it will eventfully wear the carpet out, take quite a while though and no good if you have children crawling on carpet

Sponsored Links
Thanks.
I'm now starting to think in terms of carpet tiles.