joists help

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys I wonder if any of you can give me some info.
Im a plumber/gas engineer so know a bit about most trades but not on this topic.
I've seen a house that i think i might buy. Its over a 100 year old and needs absolutley gutting. I don't mind this. There is cracking along the side of the property externally and mirrors that on the inside.
I know due to a guy who was going to buy the house and had a £2000 survey done that wall ties are needed to be replaced. Fair enough. But this is what Im concerned about. The survey also mentioned the joists were originally laid the wrong way and would need correcting or sstrenghteningThe estimated cost would be around only £500. The guy with the survey said the ceilings would need to come down (the house has 3 floors) in order to do this.
I was thinking is there no way you could get some floorboards up and use some sort of metal bracket and screw them to the joists over certain distance?? Im sure I saw something simlar on' My House Is Falling Down ' with Sarah Beeney, or Im just imagining it and there isnt such a product out there to do that.
If not how would you go about doing something like this.
I know sometimes surveys maybe have to bring things up to justify the hefty price tag and the fact its stood there for 100 years already, but i feel if im going to spend many££££ doing it up I may as well get it structuraly sound first off.
Any advice welcome

Sponsored Links
When joists run front to back of a house they provide no extra strengthening to a large gable which can sometimes belly out in the middle. You can in some cirumstances use long screw ties through the gable and into several joists to tie the gable to them.

It needs an engineers input really as there may be a lot of other strapping and tie-ing in required to the joists and other walls to stiffen the whole structure.

It is often terminated outside in a cross shaped metal band like this.