1. We are pleased to announce the 'Home Automation' forum. Click here to get involved!

Kitchem wiring with cooker point - diagram please :)

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by danyboy, 17 Aug 2011.

  1. danyboy

    Joined:
    17 Aug 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi all
    i am new and i hope u dont kill me for my maybe noob question :) OK i got job for wiring kitchen. Socket its not the problem, standard ring 2,5mm, light radial 1,5mm, but cooker this is my problem.... i know must be wiring via 6mm cable, but now i have two gap in wall, one for Coocker Control Unit, but other one ?? how i can connect everything ?? i realy need some diagram, i find some website http://www.ultimatehandyman.co.uk/diy_electrics_cooker_circuits.htm but what is this Connector unit ?? how i can connect everything, this diagram dont tell me nothing :( I know for electrician is not a problem but i do electric to, but i not professional, and i realy want learn for future :) So i very please about diagram and about connection solutions, when i do this how someone connect oven ??

    Thanks :)
     
  2. ricicle

    Joined:
    14 Sep 2006
    Messages:
    6,347
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    TROLL ALERT
     
  3. EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    11,590
    Thanks Received:
    1,324
    Location:
    Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Could you be more specific?
     
  4. ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    8,842
    Thanks Received:
    760
    Location:
    Flintshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Click do make a double connection unit [​IMG] which will allow two outlets [​IMG] it of course does need a back box it looks like this [​IMG] however to ask simple questions like you have asked shows you are not really able to do the work. Electrics is not a join the dots exercise.
    We have to for example when selecting cable first look at the installation method. 6mm sq cable could be rated anywhere between 23.5 amp and 58 amp according to installation method and type of cable.
    Assuming you want a 32 amp supply with Reference Method 103# (in a stud wall with thermal insulation with cable not touching the inner wall surface) and thermoplastic insulated and sheathed flat cable you would need 10mm sq.
    If you want a 45A supply even 16 mm sq cable is not big enough for Method 103#.
    Of course you may be using Reference Method 100# (above a plasterboard ceiling covered by thermal insulation not exceeding 100 mm in thickness) in which case 32A can be drawn from a 6mm sq cable.
    Think you need to get some one to do this for you and ask them why they are doing it the way they are doing it and not DIY until you know a lot more.
    Considering it will likely cost more to DIY then get a registered electrician to do the work by time you include LABC and hire charges it seems a little pointless to DIY a kitchen.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    51,666
    Thanks Received:
    2,020
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well you shouldn't - you are incompetent.


    That's not the problem - your incompetence is.


    Excellent idea.

     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. danyboy

    Joined:
    17 Aug 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks very much for yours help and for understanding me :)
     

Share This Page