Kitchen Sink Taps - Very Old Plumbing

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
The problem is that all the youTube videos and guides I can find refer to flexible connectors from the bottom of the tap under the sink, but this plumbing is so old that once you get under the sink, the pipes that lead from the bottom of the taps are straight and not at all flexible. I have little to no plumbing knowledge so bear with me while I try to describe them. If I look under the sink, at the top of pipe that leads up to the bottom of the tap there is a plastic washer type thing that doesn't seem to do much apart from go around and around - doesn't get tighter or looser - just goes around and around :) water is definitely leaking there.

On that same pipe are two nuts, one pretty close to the plastic washer, one much lower down. I've tried loosening both of those thinking it would allow the pipe to break and so perhaps I could replace a washer but it seems not... the nuts just moved up and down the pipes. Can't figure out the reason for those at all.

Do I have to remove the tap? If so, how will that help me to get access to the pipe and fix the leak?

Any/all advice gratefully received - thanks.

Sponsored Links
I think the plastic nut you describe is the nut that secures the tap to the sink ( if it keeps going around as you tighten it then its broken) the nuts beneath this are the actual water pipe connection.

A picture would help ;)

that was so fast. I'm impressed.. especially as I only managed to post half the message! oh the shame. Let me try again

Hello,

I have a very slow leak/drip (barely a cup's worth over 24 hours that I'm hoping I'm going to be able to fix myself) from under the kitchen sink.