Leaks in the cellar from old coal shute.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello people, newbie here!!

Recently I had my cellar damp proofed and walls covered in cement. My house is an old Victorian house, and in one section of the cellar there's a hole in the wall for what was the coal shute. Paving slabs cover the hole leading out. I should have got the builders to perhaps block this section off with bricks, but I didn't. Anyway, with all the recent heavy rain we've been having, droplets of rain are seeping through the gaps in the paving stone and leaking into the coal shute. I can see this, if I put my head in the shute and look up.

I've tried contacting the builder, but the git isn't answering his phone. Anyway, hypothetically speaking. If I were to sort this problem out by myself, would it be a matter removing the paving stone, laying some concrete down and the reseating the paving stone? Would I need some sort of waterproof sheet as barrier to stop the rain coming in?

Or should I brick the hole up from the cellar. Fill in the hole with rubble/pebbles etc, cover in concrete and then place the paving stone over?

55kpis.png

path above. You can see where the slab has subsided.

14si0zk.png

Inside the hole. You can see where the two slabs meet. Water seems to be coming in from there. There also seems to be a bit of condensation under the slab.

156s9j5.png

2zfu337.png

Entrance.

Any help/advice/ridicule would be welcome

Sponsored Links
Intersting you have had no answers either, I posted a similar problem on here last week and nobody came forward with an answer.

I have a smiliar porblem and access to the bottom is also limited. All Suggestion more than welcome.

Is there anything that can be applied to the TOP to seal the joint and the Slabs? :?:

Remove the S&C fillets around the flag and attempt to lift the flag up and out - push from below while, hopefully, someone deals with it from above. Then come back with pics of the top of the shute.