Loft conversion- Legal/Planning/building control fees, How bad are they?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm planning to do a loft conversion (no dormer, just a straight boarding out roof/floor ,making a staircase and fitting a velux window)
(I will do some of the jobs myself as I'm electrician by trade and have done some construction work abroad for quite some time as well,but I will also bring in some labour for some other stuff ).

However I want to calculate my full costs down to the last penny and I'm not sure what legal costs there are. I do plan to sell the house sometime in future so I want to do everything the proper way.

From the research I have done I do not need planning permission, just the building control approval which is around £450-£500 in my area from what I have found, However I'm not exactly sure what that building control fee consists of? what do they actually do?

the plan is to:

bring down a large chimney which sits in middle of the loft and has to go ( for that I understand I will need to apply to council for demolition permission which was around £150).
I will be bringing the chimney breast down also in 2nd floor and just leave the breast in the 1st floor as is.
By removing a chimney breast in 2nd floor I will now have 30% larger bathroom in 2nd floor as well which I will get re-done as well, do I need any permission for that as well or that is included in the demolition permission as after all I'm just bringing down the chimney and one of the chimney walls is also a wall in a bathroom so it's almost as I'm removing the chimney not the wall?