Loft Lighting

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I'm pretty new to all this electrics lark but i can do the basics, i'm looking for the best way to fit a light in the loft. I have a seperate ring main running round the loft and was wondering what was the best/safest way to add lights to the loft with a pull cord switch near the hatch.

I have 3 double sockets which are on their own ring-main and are new in the last 6-months and runs back to the Consumer Unit.

Whats my best option??

Thanks in advance for any help!!

Sponsored Links
I suppose the traditional way would be to run from the lighting circuit, assuming there is one. :D :idea: :D

You need to find a part of it that contains permanent live, neutral and earth.

From here you can run a cable to the pull switch.

From here you can run a cable to the light.

At the switch you would connect the neutrals together in a 5 amp connector block. Use the earth terminal only for earth wires.

Connect all earth wires together. Sleeve bare earth wires with green and yellow sleeving.

If you do not have access to the lighting circuit you can fit an unswitched 3/5 amp unswitched fused spur from the socket circuit; then run the new lighting from here.

You need to know if the the wiring where you will fit the fused spur unit is part of the ring, and not a spur from it.

Sponsored Links
Extending the lighting circuit is the best way in loft spaces,
//www.diynot.com/wiki/electrics:lighting.
But if for some reason that is not a suitable method, you would need to fit a Fused Connection Unit (FCU) to the socket outlet, downfuse to 5Amps, then you can install 1.0mm or 1.5mm Twin and earth from the FCU. Then from there a loop to light fitting and drop to swicth/pull cord.

Extending the lighting circuit is the best way in loft spaces,
//www.diynot.com/wiki/electrics:lighting.