Looking for some advice to get me out of a pickle

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I took on a project installing an av system as a contractor, I was only given the drawings to price from which shows main containment and the drawings shows a lot of our equipment directly above the main containment, others would need a few clips off the main containment to final location.

Because of this I reduced our price, partly because its a big job and partly because the job looked good on paper, it wasn't a stupid price I thought it was fair.

When we arrived on site we found the equipment which actually needed a few clips turned into between 4m and 10m worth of clipping, and the main containment had been moved so virtually none of the equipment are above the main containment.

I instantly raised concerns with the company I'm working for and we agreed to start installing tray and try to make the job fit the price, materials supplied by them and labour supplied by me.

Over the last 10 weeks I have constantly raised concerns about we're doing much more work then we priced for and at this progress rate we're expecting to lose about £4,000, while they agree its not as per our original discussions and drawing they will not go back to they're customer as they have been promised more work, in turn this work has been promised to me but its a dangling carrot and every time I approach the subject about us doing extra work and need more money the response is I should hear about the other jobs soon and asked to carry on for a couple of weeks.

I'm now at a point where I can see the £4,000 increasing and I need an exit route, there is no contract as such just him accepting our quote.

I know I'm partly to blame by doing the additional work with no variation order but its an existing client and I was trying to make it work for everyone involved.

If I was to walk away from the job legally do they have to pay me for what I've done?
[/code]

Sponsored Links