Measuring spotlights for later drill.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hmm, cr&p title - sorry!
A very kind poster on another thread has given me advice on fixing my ceiling which I'd not originally intended to do. Bit of a task but I'm ready for the job!
My query relates to the pinpointing of the holes which currently house my halogen spots. As I will be plasterboarding and skimming, it will be necessary to take out the lights and hide the wires in the ceiling.

I'm looking for a 'trade tip' to ensure I can correctly locate the original holes for when I come to redrill and replace the spots.
All well and good measuring out the holes but how can I guarantee the tape measure is following exactly the same line as before?
Aside from spending an ever decreasing budget on 'laser guided measuring implements' the only option I can think of is using a plank of wood - the edges marked flat against the wall :confused: ?

Cheers.

Sponsored Links
Hi Northbeach

I am an electrician and have had to get involved in this problem several times.

All I do is measure from the two adjacent walls to the center of the hole keeping your tape (by eye) reasonably at right angles to the wall.

If you then do this again when ready to cut the new hole you will be almost spot on. Your tape measure would have to be really skew wiff to the wall for this not to work quite accuritly. With one measurement you could get it wrong but a measurement from two adjacent walls solves that problem. Drill where they cross.

Hope this helps

Cheers happyhero.
I understand what you say in theory but I'm a little worried that I won't quite get my 90 degree angles correct (I hate it when that happens :) )
Just whirring this around in my head now...I guess the cross point would ensure the centre is hit - would you have to adjust one of your measurements so this cross directly?