Meter tails in cavity wall

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by cider, 3 Jun 2011.

  1. cider

    Joined:
    25 Jul 2008
    Messages:
    3,908
    Thanks Received:
    632
    Location:
    Bristol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi. Can someone please tell me if new replacement meter tails should be run in a flexy conduit in the cavity.

    Many thanks

    Cider

    To clarify, if in the cavity.
     
  2. ricicle

    Joined:
    14 Sep 2006
    Messages:
    6,347
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cables should not run along cavities in walls !
     
  3. Lectrician

    Joined:
    18 Jul 2004
    Messages:
    7,777
    Thanks Received:
    312
    Location:
    Devon
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    With the excepetion of meter tails ;)

    They should be installed with care so as to prevent damage - ideally installed as the wall is built. Fairly easy to drop in if the meter box opening is cut out but the meter box not yet installed.

    The NHBC also detail meter tails as the only cable permissible to be installed in a cavity wall.






    typos corrected...
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  4. cider

    Joined:
    25 Jul 2008
    Messages:
    3,908
    Thanks Received:
    632
    Location:
    Bristol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    To make it clear this is an upgrade of tails whilst fitting new cu. The existing ones were in the cavity Verticaly (about 1.5 m) between meter box and cu but not protected in any way. I've run new ones in flex conduit and going to protect them with rcd at meter.
     
  5. RF Lighting

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    18,365
    Thanks Received:
    1,108
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why??

    How do you plan to achieve compliance with regulation 314.1 with that setup?
     
  6. cider

    Joined:
    25 Jul 2008
    Messages:
    3,908
    Thanks Received:
    632
    Location:
    Bristol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Which part
     
  7. RF Lighting

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    18,365
    Thanks Received:
    1,108
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    (i) for starters.
     
  8. cider

    Joined:
    25 Jul 2008
    Messages:
    3,908
    Thanks Received:
    632
    Location:
    Bristol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Think it would hazardous and inconvenient to drill through a 100amp cable
     
  9. Lectrician

    Joined:
    18 Jul 2004
    Messages:
    7,777
    Thanks Received:
    312
    Location:
    Devon
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That doesn't make sence.

    The reg is dealing with the hazardous nature & inconvenience of the entire supply failing, plunging thw whole house into darkness while you are climbing the stairs, moving a fat fryer etc due to a dodgy kettle for example.

    Your RCD at the origin is in deviation of this regulation....

    You cannot place a 30mA RCD as the mains switch of an installation, and should not be placing such kit inside a meterbox anyway.
     
  10. cider

    Joined:
    25 Jul 2008
    Messages:
    3,908
    Thanks Received:
    632
    Location:
    Bristol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Who said it wad 30 ma
     
  11. holmslaw

    Joined:
    12 Dec 2006
    Messages:
    5,841
    Thanks Received:
    400
    Country:
    United Kingdom

Share This Page