Moving a boiler

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello All,

I want to move my conventional boiler from my kitchen to my airing cupboard.
The decision I need to make is whether to replace it with another conventional boiler or a combi one.
I have been reading up some of the differences in them and can't decide. The quote I have been given by British Gas is pretty pricey, they have said if I go for a conventional boiler that it will probabaly be £1000 cheaper as it doesn't involve changing the whole system.

Our house is a 2 bed terrace with 3 people in and we don't use alot of hot water or heating apart from in the winter.

I am also looking into getting a local firm round for a quote, but always worry about people doing a bodge job, which is why I've never had anything done to the house I guess lol.

Any advice welcome :) :)

Sponsored Links
As a boiler installer, I am always asked for advice on the merits between a combi and a standard OV system.

If you want to save £1000 and have been happy with the way the system has worked until now, keep the existingf config and just change the boiler.

If you desire mains pressure showers (and someone has measured the incoming water flow rate and deemed it suitable) go for a combi.

Only you can know what suits your lifestyle.

What I will say - and this may be contentious - is that there is very little efficiency/operating cost benefit in changing to a combi.

You are very unlikely to save £1000 in gas bills over the next decade by fitting a condensing combi vs condensing open vent boiler.

Hi, thank you for the fast reply.

It was really the shower thing that sold it to me :LOL: although we don't have a shower! I am planning on doing alot of work to the house including a new bathroom which will have a shower!
As much as I love showers though, I'm not sure I can warrent spending a thousand pound + on them, not when I have managed to put up with baths for the last 7 years :rolleyes: