moving a socket

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by mandsrees, 12 Jan 2007.

This topic originated from the How to page called Installing a power socket.

  1. mandsrees

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Glamorgan
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a single socket behind a wardrobe with 3 lots of power cables coming into it. I want to put a new socket a metre away how do I connect these cables I want to blank the existing socket off
     
  2. plugwash

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    8,798
    Thanks Received:
    262
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    30A terminal block should be fine.
     
  3. mandsrees

    Joined:
    12 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Glamorgan
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    plugwash
    Do you mean that I put the 9 cables into the 30A terminal blocks
     
  4. plugwash

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    8,798
    Thanks Received:
    262
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you need to connect all lives together, all neutrals together and all earths together (you should end up with 4 of each once you add the ones from your new socket)

    a 3 segement long peice of 30A terminal block should handle this connection job easilly.
     
  5. RF Lighting

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    18,363
    Thanks Received:
    1,107
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    3 lives into one terminal
    3 neutrals into another terminal
    3 earths twisted togeter at the end and connected to the earth terminal in the socket back box.
     
  6. Steve

    Joined:
    15 Apr 2005
    Messages:
    16,004
    Thanks Received:
    226
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I thought this was frowned upon.
     
  7. RF Lighting

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    18,363
    Thanks Received:
    1,107
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Normally yes, but the earth terminal in some back boxes are not very good so twisting will ensure earth continuity is maintained
     
  8. festa

    Joined:
    6 Feb 2006
    Messages:
    212
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wow yeah....i can remember when i was training and my tutor screamed not to ever twist wires together .....mind you he even blew his top when he found a wire stripper in my tool bag.
    He would only ever let us strip wire with the tips of our wire cutters.
    In the real world like RF says sometimes twisting is the only way to get those wires in safely.
     
  9. plugwash

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    8,798
    Thanks Received:
    262
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    maybe better to use another way in the terminal block to join the earths and then run a flylead to the box earth terminal (assuming the box is metal)
     
  10. ebee

    Joined:
    14 Aug 2005
    Messages:
    1,702
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hang about,
    first you should check it`s a ring and not a branched radial (tree).
    Even then, if it is a ring with a spur on = 3 cables (9 wires) then you would end up with two spurs at one place on a ring, that`s a no no.
    Check it`s a ring then extend the ring to your new socket.
    I could tell you how to do that but I`d preffer you to contact a pro for safety.
    Do not twist wires together, double them, and leave a blank plate over the site of the existing socket in order to indicate it`s position and therefore likely cable runs, also it allows inspection of the strip connector at a later date.
     
  11. plugwash

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    8,798
    Thanks Received:
    262
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    and what reg would this be or are you just repeating hearsay?
     
  12. ebee

    Joined:
    14 Aug 2005
    Messages:
    1,702
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ideally, all sockets on a newly installed ring would be on the ring itself, if spurring at any time, no more total spurs than sockets on ring, you may spur directly off the ring , or at point (socket say) or at the origin of the ring (the fuseway), only one spur at any one place (it`s a potential current draw problem if you use more), a point is either a single or a twin or a fused multiple.
    The term spur I used above really means unfused spur, if you want multiple spurs off one place then it should be fused (ie 13Amp max = total of the spur itself)
     
  13. plugwash

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    8,798
    Thanks Received:
    262
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i repeat my question can you give a reg that backs this up or are you just repeating hearsay?

    also i don't see how two spurs from a place with no point is any worse than a spur from a point
     
  14. ebee

    Joined:
    14 Aug 2005
    Messages:
    1,702
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It`s not a reg in itself as such that specifically says "Only one spur at any place on a ring final" or similar, it is an agreed CONVENTIONAL CIRCUIT ARRANGEMENT that is derived from design consideration of the regs in their entirety and that part is in itself with refference to current draw and overheating of the cables/terminals.
    Like in a similar fashion I don`t think there`s a reg that specfically says "Don`t open a live socket and stick your finger in it" yet the regs do conspire to make this forbidden (much as you`d expect really).
    No think about what potentially could be the current draw at the place on a ring where two unfused spurs are connected.
     
  15. RF Lighting

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    18,363
    Thanks Received:
    1,107
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Electricity at work act 1989

    Regulation 14.
     

Share This Page