New laminate worktops and plinths chipped after cutting - expected?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I purchased a new kitchen and found some professional fitters to install it for me. I'm a bit dubious on the quality of the installation as I'm just an amateur DIY enthusiast and was wondering what other's thought about the cutting.

1) The laminate worktops where they've had to cut the side-ends off the laminate surface (to make space for a free standing appliance) has chipped away on the rounded front edge, about 10x10mm on the upper and lower part. They've put wood colour filler (which doesn't really hide it) and then sealed the end with a laminate strip. The back edge is also chipped but I don't mind because it can be hidden by the upstands. Is it reasonable to expect perfect cuts on my worktops?

2) The floor plinths are glossed white finishes but needed to be cut to match the raised tiles and underside of the cabinets. In a few parts of the plinths, the bottom edge has small chips about 1-2mm in from the edge. It is noticeable because of the white gloss finish on the plinths and polished porcelain tiles. Again, is it reasonable to expect this?

The finish is something I would expect if I did it myself but paying over £2k for fitting, I'm not so sure. Any thoughts appreciated.

They are small issues so not really worth buying new worktops/plinths. Also, if anyone has any DIY tips to conceal these chips, that would also be helpful.

Sponsored Links
Is it reasonable to expect perfect cuts on my worktops?
Yes it is.
A 10mm chip is not acceptable, and has been caused by either using the wrong tool to cut it, or the cutter was blunt, operator was careless etc.
What did they actually make the cut(s) with?

In a few parts of the plinths, the bottom edge has small chips about 1-2mm in from the edge.
They cut the bottom edge rather than the top?

Always cut laminate work tops into the bullnose upside down, sharp fine blade = perfect cut.