Newby needing advise on insulating

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have a timber framed house - half way between a pre-fab and a Scandinavian property. Wall are 95 mm wood stud filled with mineral wool with plasterboard inside and 19 mm Cedar cladding outside under concrete tile.
To improve the U value of the walls (presently 0.4 about) I was planning to dry-line external walls on the inside with foam-backed plasterboard over the existing (adhesive bond). Using 90mm foam and 12 mm plasterboard the U value becomes reasonably up-to-date (U=0.16) by my calcs.
Is there anything stopping me legally and should I get a structural engineer to advise if I am achieving a particular level of U value for when and if I ever sell? I am just wanting to make the place more comfy and less costly to heat for me for the next few years, but I could easily find it unsellable when the time comes.
Anything to worry about? Advice much appreciated.
I am a mechanical engineer, but not a building structural engineer or lawyer!
OldRobin...

Sponsored Links
Technically speaking you should apply for building regulations. The likelihood of running into a problem if you don't is small but if you really want to get it right you should apply.

John,
Many thanks. Just the sort of advice I was needing. I will troll off to the Planning Dept and see if they want me to make a formal application or not. Cheers OldRobin

One word of caution.

If you have insulated timber stud walls and you add insulation internally you could move the dew point to somewhere within the existing insulated stud wall creating interstitial condensation and potential rapid decay of the timber frame.

I haven't done a dew point calculation since I was at college a very very long time ago so cannot help on that score but if you speak to some of the insulation manufacturers they may be able to do one for free. They should also be able to provide the U-value calculation for you.

Sponsored Links