Nightmare using compression fittings on plastic heating pipes

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I've been doing DIY plumbing for 30yrs.............I'm no expert but I can do it.

I wanted to run plastic pipes (with pipe insulation too) under the floorboards because it can withstand freezing temps better and for the first time I'm using brass compression fittings with inserts in the pipes because a brass fitting will not leak but that O ring on a plastic pushfit will finally give up in about 40yrs time.

I've run the pipes, had the heating working for the last 3 days............BUT................every morning most of the joints are leaking, I tighten the fitting more and all is good for the day. The next morning the heating won't work cos the pressure has dropped due to all the overnight leaks!!!!!!!

3 days this has happened, I'm gonna have to rip out the plastic n use copper. Has anyone else had this? my inserts are plastic but suitable for compressions

Sponsored Links
If you've been doing plumbing for 30 years already, will you be around in 40 years time when you suspect the o-rings in push fit will give up? (Some push-fit ranges are guaranteed for 50 years)

I'm not sure that plastic is any more frost resistant, other than that it insulates a bit better. At the end of the day, if the water freezes in a pipe, it'll fail, plastic or copper.

Anyway, I suspect that you have overtightened the fittings.

Are you using brass olives or copper ones. Copper being softer than brass will get a better seal on the soft plastic wall.
40 years guarantee on an approved fitting sounds a lot better than failed compression joints.

Sponsored Links
It's so simple to do leak free compression on plastic. Firstly tighten it up just past tight. Then undo it and pack the olive with a ton of ptfe tape then do up again voila.!