No power to baxi boiler or control panel

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by reevsy, 26 May 2010.

  1. reevsy

    Joined:
    26 May 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Good evening,

    I have a problem with my Baxi Boiler (Solo HE Range) and its control panel. There is no power going to the boiler or control panel. I have checked the fuse and that is OK.

    Any Ideas where to look next?

    Regards
     
  2. ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    52,055
    Thanks Received:
    2,033
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How did you determine that there is no power going to the boiler or control panel?

    Does the circuit supplying the boiler supply anything else?
     
  3. reevsy

    Joined:
    26 May 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for reply.

    The control panel had a orange back light that was always on this is now out but still has digits that are still visible. The buttons have no effect on the boiler.

    I guess im guessing that there is no power going to it, the boiler is 10 months old. It would appear to have no power going to it?!?

    As you can see I'm a DIY noob, any suggestion appreciated.
     
  4. ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    52,055
    Thanks Received:
    2,033
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Where/how is the boiler connected to an electricity supply?

    You say you checked the fuse - what fuse? Where?

    Does the circuit supplying the boiler supply anything else?

    Do you have a multimeter?

    You need to find out for sure if power is getting to the boiler or not. If not you need to find out what is stopping it, and where, if it is then you need someone to fix the boiler. Or check on the CH forum - should be safe enough to ask about this.
     
  5. joe-90

    Joined:
    28 Oct 2005
    Messages:
    30,570
    Thanks Received:
    958
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Isn't it under warranty?
     
  6. reevsy

    Joined:
    26 May 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Many thanks.

    I checked the fuse that is on the switch plate (looks like a light switch). fuse comes out on a tray.

    I dont know what else os on the same circuit either, sorry. I have a multi meter, Ill follow your advice thanks.

    Gavin
     
  7. reevsy

    Joined:
    26 May 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes it is. Just seeing if i is a easy fix.
     
  8. 1john

    Joined:
    3 Oct 2009
    Messages:
    3,351
    Thanks Received:
    341
    Location:
    West Glamorgan
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Prob blown the 2amp fast blow fuse in the boiler which fuses the supply to the PCB.
     
  9. bongos

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    1,021
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How did you check the fuse?

    Is there anything else on this circuit? Are you able to open the FCU and chek for 230v using your multimeter?
     
  10. ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    52,055
    Thanks Received:
    2,033
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Or look into 1john's idea - the reason I suggested asking on the CH forum was in case someone said "Baxi Solo HE? Yeah - well known for <some-fault-or-other> - check that first".
     
  11. reevsy

    Joined:
    26 May 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for all replies. I have found the problem to be the timer/conrol unit. Power is not being sent to the boiler.

    At least its not the boiler :LOL:
     

Share This Page