NTE2000 ADSL Filtered Facelplate

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I'm trying to fit an NTE2000 adsl filtered faceplate.
I'm no expert so apologies if my terminology is wrong.

Basically, I've bought a replacement for the bottom half of the bt master socket which has an adsl filter built into it.

On the back of the faceplate I've bought is an IDC connector with 6 terminals (2,3,4,5,A,B).

The master socket is in the hall and is never used, all my telephony devices are in the lounge.

I'm trying to tidy up cables tacked to skirting etc etc - so as well as the new faceplate I've also bought some modular sockets, specifically a BT module and an RJ11 module.

I've hooked up pins 2, 3 and 5 on the back of the faceplate to pins 2, 3 and 5 on the phone module and this seems to work fine.

I'm struggling however, to wire up the adsl extension.
I'm pretty sure I'm supposed to use the A and B terminals.
I'm trying to terminate this at the other end with an RJ11 module.
RJ11 has 6 pins and no amount of trying seems to want to work.
(My router will not connect).

From what I've read B goes to 2 and A to 5 but this just doesn't work.
Is that it? or have I missed something.

If that is it, then honestly, it's not working.
Anyone have any advice on trying to diagnose the issue?

Many thanks.

Sponsored Links
You didn't say if it was A to 4 and B to 5 or vice versa.

Anyway, I tried both and still no luck :(

thanks anyway, any more suggestions?

Are the A and B on the new faceplate the same as the A and B on the master socket? I know you're not supposed to play with those but I was just wondering if you were to wire an extension off of those and terminate it with an RJ11 what pins would you use on the RJ11?

I've also got some logic nagging me that says if you look closely at the RJ11 that came with the router there are only 2 wires visible and it seems like they're in the middle. Does this mean they're in 3 and 4??

Thanks again.