one coat or two and how long to wait in between

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I am a DIY/ Novice plasterer. I have plastered 2 bedrooms so far (not ceilings) and the results have been better than I expected. The only problem I have is that I end up with some minor blemishes on the wall. I have good look at the wall when wet and I try to smooth out as much as I can before the plaster goes off, but I always end up with some blemishes when it dry's out. I use 2 coats of plaster from the same mix. That is I skim the wall and then using the same mix I skim over the first coat again. I find this gives me more time to smooth out and I also find it easier to get a flat smooth finish (except minor blemishes). Should I be using 2 coats? If so should I use 2 from the same mix or should I let the first coat dry out a little, say 20 mins or so and then mix up again and re-coat. The blemishes are not too bad and a little sanding gets them out but I want to get it as good as I possibly can.

I use multi finish plaster

Any advice would be great.

Sponsored Links
on small areas we use from the same mix too. we leave 1/3rd in the bucket and add a little more water and powder if necessary.

it does lessen the workability time though.

use two coats minimum.

blemishes are easier to see once the wall has completely dries out. unfortunately. :rolleyes: :D

Your doing nothing wrong, you just need a little more practice :) wait till you try those cielings :eek:

Sponsored Links
Thanks for the replies and advice. So I am doing things right but can you give me any advice on how to get rid of those blemishes or will this just come with practise. One other thing the walls when plastered do not seem completely flat. If I run my hand up the wall the surface rises slightly in areas. Once painted you do not notice but I know that it's there and it Bugs me! Sorry should I have re - posted?? :confused: