Oscillating Multi-Tool recommendations

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I work as a laminate floor fitter and have always used a handsaw to undercut the door frames to slide the laminate flooring underneath. I am looking for a new oscillating multi-tool to get to hard to reach areas and was wondering for those that own and use one, what brand/model would you recommend? I was planning to spend no more than £60-£70.

Are the blades universally compatible or are they brand/model specific?

Any info and advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance

Sponsored Links
at work we have a really awful cheapo 1 thats no good for nothing,not enough guts,
i recently picked up a 2nd hand fein multi master WOW like a knife through butter.i managed to get it for £50 so i class that as a right bargain.

I have the older fein but it doesn't have the locking teeth to hold the blade and so for that reason I'm out.

I got a Macalister on special at B&Q. Fantastic machine, great build quality and you get blades of Ebay for less than two quid a piece. Three year warranty too.

Sponsored Links
Recently had a 240v Ryobi bought for me, just a cheapy as it would only be an occasional tool but my god was it rubbish, all noise and nothing else, didn't want to cut whether you pressed on or let the tool do the work, for a tool that's sole purpose is to vibrate it was crap so I suspect it was the blades. Had the receipt so took it back and bought myself a dewalt, what a difference its night and day better.

Ryobi pro's

Very light
Price.....but theres a reason
Universal blades

Con's

Poor quality blades
Noise

Dewalt pro's

LED work light
Quick change blade system
Build quality
Variable speed rocker trigger
Speed of cut
Price not bad at £120

Con's

Considerably heavier (than the Ryobi)
Requires specific dewalt blades if you want to use the quick change system although does come with a universal adaptor for cheapy blades