Outside light from spur

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by hadsatron, 18 Jun 2007.

This topic originated from the How to page called Adding a spur to a ring circuit from a socket.

  1. hadsatron

    Joined:
    18 Jun 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I want to run an outside light from a spur coming of an electrical socket. Can I do this and what cable would I need for the spur?
     
  2. festa

    Joined:
    6 Feb 2006
    Messages:
    212
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes you can do this as long as your new extension doesn't put too much on to the circuits Earth fault loop.

    If the ring is run in 2.5mm twin and earth then your spur should be in the same size cable to a suitable FCU,from there,depending on the power the new light is pulling you can run a smaller cable as long as the fuse in the FCU protects it i.e...

    If your new light is 1000w then 2.5mm should be run to the FCU, from the FCU you can run either 1mm or 1.5mm cable ( for ease of terminating in new light fitting) to the new fitting and a suitable 5amp fuse placed in the FCU.
     
  3. hadsatron

    Joined:
    18 Jun 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for that. What sort of FCU would you reccommend and where should I locate it. I was planning to run the spur from a socket that is on the inside of the outside wall where the light is to be placed. Should I run the spur to the FCU on the inside and then run the cable from the FCU outside to the light?
     
  4. JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    38,245
    Thanks Received:
    1,522
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    have the FCU inside the house.

    It will then be out of the rain and you will not need to buy an expensive weatherproof one. Fit a 3A fuse cartidge.

    Put the FCU next to, or above, the socket that it spurs from. make a neat permanent label saying "outside lights spur, 3A"
     
  5. securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    25,801
    Thanks Received:
    484
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    When I had a security lighting circuit running 1000W off a type 1 5A breaker, it kept tripping.poo poo farts
     
  6. securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    25,801
    Thanks Received:
    484
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    I must apologise....my 7 yo has just hijacked this post and written a load of juvenile toilet words.... something I'd never do...;)

    What I meant to say was....


    When I had a security lighting circuit running 1000W off a type 1 5A breaker, it kept tripping. I had to downgrade the load to 6/800W.
     
  7. bpowell555

    Joined:
    19 May 2005
    Messages:
    385
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I was thinking of doing this but the light site is round the corner from the socket. Can I run the cable round outside at the top of the wall or do I need to chase it all the way up the inside and along the top of the wall to the middle of the patio doors and out? For the outside option I was wondering if I could run the cable 1.5m up the wall then inside again for the switch and then up from there?

    Cheers!
     
  8. Tim 77

    Joined:
    13 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    565
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Toilet talk, I get it all the time from my 4 year old son! :D
     
  9. bpowell555

    Joined:
    19 May 2005
    Messages:
    385
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    cheers for that big fella :rolleyes: :D
     

Share This Page