Paint Cracking When Drying

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have just finished painting a large bedroom and as I was finishing off the last coat on the last wall I reached the first wall I started painting tonight and noticed that it was starting to look like a dried out river bed.

The room was originally painted a very deep dark purple over 8 years ago. Because the purple was so dark and the new colour quite light I decided to cover with white first before I put my girlfriend's choice of "Mellow Mocca" over the top. Realising it was going to be a big job I thought I'd give Dulux's paint pod a go, hopefully making my job much easier, with the key thing being quicker as I knew I was going to have to do some of the coats after long days at work. On Saturday last weekend I put what ended up looking like a thin coat of "Pure Brilliant White" emulsion over the purple, on Sunday the second coat of white went on but the purple was still very pervasive. Over two nights during the working week I managed to get the third coat of white on and it looked fine, no hint of the purple remained. Satisfied I gave myself a couple of days off painting.

First thing this morning (Saturday) I put the first coat of Mellow Mocha on, it went on brilliantly but as I went around the room there were still small bits of white visible so I resolved to put another coat on, in hindsight that might have been my mistake. I gave the bedroom several hours to dry and decided to put the last coat on tonight (Saturday night). The paint says it should dry in 2-4 hours and it had been around 7-8 hours and everything felt dry so I put the second coat on glad that I'd finally be rid of the job.