paints.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Reading the forums Im learning loads about paint... itys good to get lots of different viewpoints.

I have three items to paint that I am not 100% on.

1) a rad. Im thinking oil eggshell or a gloss.

2) A very steamy bathroom with poor ventilation. I am looking at acrylic eggshell for this. Is this a good idea?

3) a large wooden bannister. Originally I was going to gloss, but I am thinking more acrylic eggshell... plus I could use the paint for the bathroom.

Any advice appreciated and direction to whether I am on the right tracks... Im new to this decorating malarky!

Richie

Sponsored Links
Oil based eggshell on a radiator..sure why not...and it wont stand out as much as a glossed one.
Or ordinary gloss...but it might yellow a little quicker than E/S..you can either undecoat the radiator or just gloss it...the jury is still out here on whats best...

Arcylic eggshell in a bathroom is fine...or you could go for ainti mould paint.

Wooden handrail...hmmm...do you mean its unpainted, varnished or painted with gloss?

1/ On rads use Hammerite Radiator Shades as its Specially formulated to provide a heat resistant satin finish on water filled household radiators and pipes. It does'nt yellow in time as does oil based paints. http://www.hammerite.com/uk/products/ps_radiator_shades.html 2/ Yes, acrylic eggshell, though if there is a well used shower with poor ventilation then i am afraid that eventualy the water will eventualy pentrate ALL Acrylic/Water based paints, but only at miosture trapped areas (i.e. above window !) 3/ Acrylic Eggshell on a bannister is not an great idea as ALL Acrylic/Water based paints are not as durable as oil based.

zampa, the handrail is quite a large area and looks like it was originally painted in gloss. Its gone a horrid yellow. Its been sanded down and undercoated. I just dont like the gloss look. So maybe the eggshell. Is the dulux one the best? I couldnt see it in the shop.