potterton suprima 50

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have just purchased a bungalow and the boiler has been switched on gas and electric since january 2007 although it has never been used.

It will not ignite the red light comes on initially then the green light after about 5 seconds.

Basic fault finding advice would be appreciated I am a competent electrician before I call out a plumber.

Also would it be worth just swopping out the pcb for the latest 511603 model to eliminate the fact the pcb may have been damaged.

any assistance much appreciated including name of reasonable corgi plumber

Sponsored Links
What revision PCB is in it?

Does the green light goto "static on" or "flashing on"?

Is there power on the switch live?

Is there power to the pump?

Is the pump running?

Is there power to the fan? And does that run?

Thanks everyone for help.

The pump is running.

The pcb is number 5102160.

When I switch the boiler on the red and green lights come on.

After about 5 seconds the green light goes out the red light stays on constant.

The fan I do not think is coming on. ( as far as I am aware I have checked this by simply listening)I have checked the air pressure switch and it appears to work, however the flow switch in series with the air pressure switch may be faulty it is open circuit. I was planning to replace this for the avoidance of doubt to eliminate this.

If the flow switch is not faulty stating the obvious what does this suggest.

Look forward to receiving further advice .

Sponsored Links
I dont remember a flow switch on Suprimas.

Which models was it fitted on ?

Tony

Agile said:
I dont remember a flow switch on Suprimas.

Which models was it fitted on ?

Tony

They are fitted on all the ones with a twin pipe flue, and if I remember correctly later advised to bypass them as they are a p.i.t.a

When you "disconnect" the flow switch I presume you have shorted it out?