Powering LED Strip

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Am just wanting to make sure I understand this right as I am a hobbyist but not an electrician!

I have 5m 12v 4.8w p/m led strip light.

I want to be able to dimm this so my set-up will be:

wall -> led driver -> led controller -> led strip light.

1, I need an led driver that can handle 5 x 4.8m, so let's say 30w min?

2, Some led drivers say they are non-dimmable, is this just meaning you need to add a controller to dim or does it mean the driver should not be used even with a controller for dimming?

3, Reading up it is recommended to get a constant voltage led driver. Is this the same as PWM? Is this what stops the flicker?

4, All the ebay led strip light uses power bricks as led drivers, do these produce constant voltage, or should I be investing in to more expensive led drivers like the ventilated/non-ventilated ones that need wiring to??

5, I have an old power brick lying around (ITE PSU), it is Input 100/240v 1.0A, Output 12v 1.25a
I assume at 240v, load will be 0.4amps (100v = 1.0A).
At 12v, the PSU can provide approx 20 times as many amps, i.e. up to 8 amps MAX
At led full brightness, my leds use say 25w, A = W/V, Amps ~= 2

So this brick would be fine? (or i don't understand the Math)

Any help to any questions is appreciated!

Thanks,
Ex

Last edited:
Sponsored Links
4, I have an old power brick lying around (ITE PSU), it is Input 100/240v 1.0A, Output 12v 1.25a
I assume at 240v, load will be 0.4amps (100v = 1.0A).
At 12v, the PSU can provide approx 20 times as many amps, i.e. up to 8 amps MAX
At led full brightness, my leds use say 25w, A = W/V, Amps ~= 2

So this brick would be fine? (or i don't understand the Math)

Any help to any questions is appreciated!

Thanks,
Ex
No, the output is limited to 1.25A whatever the input voltage. 2>1.25, so you will not be able to drive 25W of LEDs with a 12 x 1.25 = 15W output PSU.