Problem with Glowworm 18HXI

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by paul-hutt, 18 Dec 2007.

  1. paul-hutt

    Joined:
    18 Dec 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi everyone.

    I have the above condensing boiler with a hot water cylinder. For the past few weeks it has been coming up with an F1 fault. the manual says ignition. It only does this now and again.

    I had a local CORGI come and have a look. He said it was common on glowworms and asked if anyone had been and altered the gas. We have been here a year and not in that time. He used a gas analyser and said it was ok. He also changed an electrode (looked like a little spark plug). He did say that the fault may persist.

    He was right and we are back to having some F1 faults and having to reset the boiler. Any ideas as to what else may be causing this. Don't want the boiler breaking down over xmas and i know the engineer is working away.

    Thanks
    Paul
     
  2. fitz1

    Joined:
    24 Nov 2004
    Messages:
    1,989
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Merseyside
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Get someone to check the governor on the gas meter.Also is there a similar time zone in which it happens.
     
  3. petit_pablo

    Joined:
    18 Nov 2007
    Messages:
    7,693
    Thanks Received:
    1,364
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Many things can cause the F1 fault.

    Low rate can drop out if incorrectly set as can high rate.
    Condensate backing up to the heat exchanger
    Moisture getting on the spark electrode.

    or, PCB.
    Id personally check all the above 1st though. Board would be a last resort
     
  4. fitz1

    Joined:
    24 Nov 2004
    Messages:
    1,989
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Merseyside
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    did one earlier this year with similar fault . everything checked out o.k except the governor on the meter . was steady , but would suddenly jump to about 28 to 30 mb. transco changed gov and all was o.k.
     
  5. paul-hutt

    Joined:
    18 Dec 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for your reply. Wife said earlier it came up with a ? F13 fault.

    How can i check out what pablo suggested (not the pcb-obviously)

    I'll also ask transco to check the meter govenor
     
  6. Rob

    Rob

    Joined:
    14 Aug 2006
    Messages:
    4,481
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have this boiler indoors :( Had the intermittant F1 aswell till my mum made me fix it.

    I found the graphite seals were leaking and replaced. Corgi job. All ok since.
     
  7. paul-hutt

    Joined:
    18 Dec 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Graphite seals - i suppose these seal the burner in place.

    Approx how much to replace??
     
  8. petit_pablo

    Joined:
    18 Nov 2007
    Messages:
    7,693
    Thanks Received:
    1,364
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All the things i mentioned are corgi teritory im afraid, as is the door seal. The originals were rubber on early models and some perish. I found these perishing can cause F5 faults too but that another story!
     

Share This Page