RCDs and consumer unit

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Trying to work out if need a new consumer unit, if so will get an electrician.

Have Hager Metal 16 way, has a 4 way /DIN 63A RCD. Can this be changed for a 2 way identical unit and free up 2 slots?

Also when the electrician was fitting a new circuit he wants to fit a new sized MCB (MT120 B20), the rest of the MCBs were Hager Type 2 M3 M1XX, he had to trim the MCB to fit, he stated he couldnt get old style Hagar MCBs. If they are DIN sized can we change all of them to the newer configuration, surely its the busbar position that made it difficult for him to fit the slightly different MCB and changing them all will alter this.

We have an isolator.

Or is it worth just getting a new CU, It seems quite cramped in the Hagar compared to other boxes - high busbar, not much room above and lots below.

Cheers Duncan

PS As a non electrician I find this site fascinating and very imformative, and is the best example of a forum I have seen. Im an A+E consultant and it exceeds anything we have in medicine.

Sponsored Links
Duncan P said:
PS As a non electrician I find this site fascinating and very imformative, and is the best example of a forum I have seen. Im an A+E consultant and it exceeds anything we have in medicine.

Duncan,

Would DIY surgery be a good idea ?

Bernard
Sharnbrook

I've always fancied a bit of cheap cosmetic surgery Bernard. :D I think Duncans best bet would be to be guided by his electrician who has seen the instalation.

jj4091 said:
I've always fancied a bit of cheap cosmetic surgery Bernard. :D I think Duncans best bet would be to be guided by his electrician who has seen the instalation.

I agree about the electrics, cannot comment on the need for cosmetic surgery.