refil central heating system - airlock

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All,

Ive drained a vented central heating system with an older NETAHEAT system boiiler. The system has 2 2port valves for the CH and hot water.

Ive refilled the system (opened up the ball valve in the FandE tank and bled the CH although i think theres an airlock as the pump is making a lot of noise.

any tips on how to remove the airlock.

redrain and refil?

if it makes any difference the property is a bungalow so rads only on one level

Thanks

Sponsored Links
thanks Kev,

ill try that, any way i can make sure the whole sys is full. do i need to drain the system again and refil? or just bleed the pump. I suppose if the pump is full then the +ve and -ve sides of the sustem should be flooded since the pump is at the neutral point.

you may be able to tell im not a CH engineer just a mere bathroom fitter.

useally opening the two valves and bleeding the pump will shift the airlock.
you can always run the pump on top speed to get it all circulating.

Sponsored Links
Perhaps change your user name OP? Not being stumped by this scenario is basic plumbing ability. Lot to learn plumber.

Nah, just seemed like an odd name for a green behind the ears. It's alright using funny names and not saying where you really live, but the forum is about helping people so a misleading name.

thanks all, will give it a whirl tomorrow.

although whats my name or where i live got to do with asking for help from professionals? i dont claim to a CH engineer but just trying to deal with a prob ive never experienced before.

as you said your a bathroom fitter, so you called yourself super plumber.

least you never called yourself super gas engineer then i could understand if you didn't know the fault.

can't see whats wrong with your name