Replacing a ceiling rose with spotlights

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there,

I just have a quick question regarding replacing a ceiling rose with these. I am in the UK.

http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Product/partNumber/9274370.htm

I have a quick pic of the wiring for this light set here.

Lights.png

Now here is the issue. We had the local sparky install them for us. Conveniently, today he isn't answering his phone.

I am certain he has wired them up wrong.

The first light went in the front room. The front room has two live (red), two neutral (black) and two earth (green).

He simply put both live wires in the connector marked L, both neutral in the connector marked N and both earth in the middle connector.

Light went on, no problem or so we thought.

The issue came when he installed the lighting in the second room. That has three red, three neutral and three earth. Now I am not an electrician but obviously, the third wires do something.

So at first, he puts all three live together, all three neutral and all three earth. Everything worked, we were happy but then an hour later, the lights go off.

We called him back and he says it is a dodgy light socket. We think hmm, ok but we had a spare so he put that on. The wiring is clearly wrong because when the switched is turned on, it trips the circuit breaker and takes out the front room light.

We called again and this time, he is on the phone speaking to someone and he ends up putting the three live wires into a choc block, three earth into the earth connector and then two neutral into the neutral with one further neutral presumably the switch live into the live connector. It did not work.

He popped out to the van and disappeared! We've yet to pay him. We aren't going to in fact. I've got all his details even his NAPIT details and will follow it up.

Does this guy have a clue what he is doing? It doesn't appear so to me.