Replacing old shower - melted junction block inside

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have to replace an old gainsborough Energy 2000 shower (9.5kw) with a new Mira go (9.5kw). I have watched on Youtube how to replace a shower and my DIY skills are able to do this. The only thing troubling me is the junction box inside the shower has some time melted around the wires (a couple of years ago) as the shower hasn't worked well for some time. Only gets hot in the summer. I suspect (after looking on Google) that it could have been lose connections that has caused this. There is a main switch in the airing cupboard but this has been jammed on for some time. There is no RCD , just a trip switch on the board in the kitchen for this.

I am not an electrician but I should like to replace the swicth and shower myself as I cannot get an electrician who is interested on either My Builder.com or rated People. Nobody has responded.

Any advice would be appreciated. By the way, the switch has been opened for the photo to show how it's wired. Of course it is normally closed.

Shower%20block.jpg
[/URL]

Sponsored Links
Loose connection on neutral.

But the line is damaged too.

You will need to find some slack on the cable to cut back.

That's 6 milli cable: how long is the run back to the board and is the cable covered in insulation?

Is there an RCD protecting that circuit?

What rating is the DP switch and the protective device at the board?

Have you got PEB's to Gas and water mains and supplementary bonding in the bathroom (unless every bathroom circuit is RCD protected)?

Loose connection on neutral.

But the line is damaged too.

You will need to find some slack on the cable to cut back.

That's 6 milli cable: how long is the run back to the board and is the cable covered in insulation?

Is there an RCD protecting that circuit?

What rating is the DP switch and the protective device at the board?