RSJ Size please.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Would like to order rsj for internal wall opening.
House is 1930 victorian terrace
Opening of 2 metre in Load bearing ground floor wall.
Wall all the way up to first floor and also supporting roof struts.

Building control has mentioned 7x4 be sufficient ( only over the phone though). Is this correct.

What size would a beam be if it was a 9" thick wall. Do they come in size of 4" 9" etc etc. Please can someone advice what does one need to know before ordering rsj.

Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links
Sorry bit lost here. Can some more explanation be given as I am a novice. Please answer my original question for 7 x4.

Thanks everyone. Finally the recommended padstone for support is 450x225x100.

I can only find 450 x215x100. Can this be used or will 10mm make a huge difference. Anyone guide me where I can find the size as I cant find it with any merchant.

Thanks everyone. Finally the recommended padstone for support is 450x225x100.

I can only find 450 x215x100. Can this be used or will 10mm make a huge difference. Anyone guide me where I can find the size as I cant find it with any merchant.

450mm x 225mm x 100mm refers to the padstone plus a mortar bed and is only a minor, irrelevant detail. Buy the pads off the shelf at the size you have described, we all use 'em.

Who has come up with the size of the padstones? An 18" long padstone each side of a 2m-wide opening!!!!
Are the bricks made of dried mud?

Tony the bricks are normal bricks. I dont know how to check. I am just going by what building inspector told me. This is an internal load bearing wall in a 1930 house between living room and dining room.

I would like it to be over specd than under. However the information is just given by building inspector over the phone.

. I am just going by what building inspector told me..

Bouba; your inspector is an ass.

To accomodate 450 pads each end, you are making the opening nearly half as wide again.