Running Cables and letting sparky install

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All,

New here so apologies if this is in the wrong place.

Basically I'm purchasing a new build (by Taylor Wimpey) and want to add various electrics, such as fused spurs, 32amp outlet for hob, a few double sockets and a proper supply to the garage. TW can do most of this but want to charge the earth for the privilege and not to my exact requirements.

I also want to install CAT 6 cable which I can do (IT by trade), unfortunately TW won't let me do this during first fix so got to do it all after completion.

So my plan was after completion run my data cables and all the power cables and then get a sparky to come in and do the connecting up for the electrics and get them to do the certification etc. Am I likely to find a sparky that will do this? Would they be ok with me providing all the materials (I have trade accounts with various electrical factors)? anything I haven't thought of?

TIA

Sponsored Links
Your best bet is to get an electrician on board now, some will, some wont.
I would want to see all cable routes in there exposed state, so to confirm correct methods have been used.
RE: materials, providing you purchase quality, there should be no issues.

Since it's a new property, where new sockets are to be added, in some cases it would be wise to extend the ring rather than add spurs.

This will make any later alterations in the future so much easier.

Thanks for the replies, I'll contact a few local electricians and explain what I'm trying to achieve so I can rule out who might be prepared to help with this. House has only just had roof on so still a few months before completion.

I will make sure the electrician views the cable runs before the floor boards go back in :)

Sponsored Links
Bearing in mind the place hasn't even got the roof on, I can't help thinking you may as well get TW just to do the work.

It seems they don't want you in the place while it's being built.