1. We are pleased to announce the 'Home Automation' forum. Click here to get involved!

Samsung J1453 - error code 5e - done all the required fixes

Discussion in 'Appliances' started by Regent, 1 Jun 2009.

  1. Regent

    Joined:
    21 Sep 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Derby
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello,

    I'm getting the error code 5e on my samsung J1453 washing machine.

    I have the manual and have done whats been suggested, clean filter, check drainage hose etc and still getting the same error code when the machine attempts to drain.

    The filter propeller was making an awful noise when attmepting to drain so I checked that and I'm sure it was falling on when trying to spin, so I removed it from the filter drained manually and started the spin cycle - but came across the same error!?!

    Anyone got any ideas??? at all??
    thanks
     
  2. Regent

    Joined:
    21 Sep 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Derby
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK

    I've managed to get the machine to spin, by taking out the filter propeller - It's definitely coming loose when spin kicks in, you can here it clattering around trying to spin but bouncing all over the shop.

    Is this common - any reason for this, I can't see any real wear or tear on the propeller itself so why would it be falling off?

    Obviously when falling off it was causing a 'blockage' thats was itself causing the 5E error
     
  3. Leccy758

    Joined:
    18 May 2008
    Messages:
    1,256
    Thanks Received:
    196
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I take it you mean the impeller on the drain pump has fallen off.

    I have seen this a few times and have always ended up fitting a new pump
     
  4. Regent

    Joined:
    21 Sep 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Derby
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ah yes - the impeller - yep, thats the thing, thanks!

    This is exactly what it looks like -

    https://spares.bigwarehouse.com.au/images/1541442.jpg

    Is this common at all? I've removed the impeller and ran the machine again, but still get the 5E error - would this be the case in general becuase I've removed the impeller?? I thought removing it might stop the blockage as the blockage was the impeller itself falling off.

    What's the job of the impeller - if you don't mind educating me a little more?

    I'd be happy to fit it myself if anyone can point me in the direction of a parts distributor where I could get hold of one?!

    Thanks again
    Regent
     
  5. rocks1

    Joined:
    30 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    5,949
    Thanks Received:
    1,007
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    the impeller flicks the water round in easy terms have you google for a pump
     
  6. rocks1

    Joined:
    30 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    5,949
    Thanks Received:
    1,007
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  7. Regent

    Joined:
    21 Sep 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Derby
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've just emailed the same guy on ebay to ask about that exact pump

    Thanks a lot

    Why does the water need flicking around??

    Regent (obvisouly not a plumber or electrician)
     
  8. rocks1

    Joined:
    30 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    5,949
    Thanks Received:
    1,007
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    water needs to move up the drain pipe. holding it up will not get the water up so the pump will flick the imellor round ,bit like a ship no power it just sits then once the rear impeller on the ship starts it pushes water away ,thats the easy way to explain it .
     
  9. Regent

    Joined:
    21 Sep 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Derby
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK

    I fitted the new pump, which I been assured is the correct pump (the exact one as above) and all fits well etc.

    I've tried out the spin cycle but it won't spin at top speed, simply displays 9mins on the display, ticks to 8mins and slowly spins for a min, the goes back to 9min and same process carries on and on...... Not getting up any speed.

    Any ideas??
     
  10. rocks1

    Joined:
    30 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    5,949
    Thanks Received:
    1,007
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    was it doing it before you removed the pump .if not is the heater wires still connected try and retrace your steps.
     
  11. Regent

    Joined:
    21 Sep 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Derby
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Before, the washing machine wouldn't drain and would error before getting to a spin. Now it just spins without much effort - it's like theres just not enough power ??
     
  12. Regent

    Joined:
    21 Sep 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Derby
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Also, want to make sure I'm getting the wires the correct way round - I have a red wire with a connector and blue and white wires on a single connector - on my pump I have two tabs to where the wires connect, one marked L and one marked N - which goes to which??
     
  13. rocks1

    Joined:
    30 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    5,949
    Thanks Received:
    1,007
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    there should only be two wires on a pump dont matter which way they go round ,
     
  14. Regent

    Joined:
    21 Sep 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Derby
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Good - tried all variations with the same outcome. Slow spinning, now fills and empties perfectly well but spinning just isn't happening - slow spin repeating
     
  15. rocks1

    Joined:
    30 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    5,949
    Thanks Received:
    1,007
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it hasnt got a no spin button on the front has it :?:
     

Share This Page