Saniflow unit not pumping

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by Psyclist, 4 Apr 2012.

  1. Psyclist

    Joined:
    15 Jun 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've got a Sanivite 3 which is less than 1 year old, but after a phase failure yesterday it has stopped pumping.

    I've dismantled the unit and cleaned everything, checked the fuse in the spur and that's fine, but I cannot get it to do anything.

    Having removed the pump unit from inside the case, the electric side is obviously sealed up so I don't want to go poking around in there, but where is the switch located in these things and how can I test it?

    Thanks

    Kristian

    *UPDATE* When tipped upside down, the pump fires up, but I can fill the case to the brim and it does nothing.
     
  2. Agile

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    55,780
    Thanks Received:
    3,675
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You seem to have done a lot to it without understanding how they work!

    They have a sensitive pressure switch connected to the tank by a thin tube.

    Tube and connections need to be clear and dry!

    Tony
     
  3. Psyclist

    Joined:
    15 Jun 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No thin tube. It was just a pressure switch at the bottom of the actual pump unit. The microswitch had failed inside.

    All I did was clean it up and lift it out to inspect. I didn't want to break the seals and open it up without further knowledge so I contacted a Sani-flo engineer who turned up, pulled it apart and put a new switch in, silicone sealed it and put it back in the case and it worked straight away.

    Job done.
     
  4. Agile

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    55,780
    Thanks Received:
    3,675
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That was an expensive solution.

    With my guidance you could have bought the switch for about £20 and fitted it yourself!

    Tony
     
  5. Psyclist

    Joined:
    15 Jun 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I work in a hotel with a large wedding party in tonight and that was the drainage from the bar so it absolutely had to be up and running by close of play today so I had no choice but to call an engineer if I didn't have it fixed by lunchtime.
     
  6. Agile

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    55,780
    Thanks Received:
    3,675
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Never seen anyone in Hotel Babylon having to mend the plumbing!

    I doubt Michael could do any pumbing anyway.

    Tony
     
  7. middlesbrough

    Joined:
    14 May 2009
    Messages:
    4,638
    Thanks Received:
    483
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Bassil faulty did fookall either ........youd put him to shame psyclist !

    Know wonder they only made 12 episodes.......couldnt get the staff ! ;)
     
  8. Agile

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    55,780
    Thanks Received:
    3,675
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I thought Hotel Babalon was brilliant.

    But just like Ladies' No 1 they scheduled it at an off peak time which was totally wrong for an expensive production!

    Tony
     
  9. 75pete

    Joined:
    9 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    362
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Tony, would it be possible for you to add the information that you said you could have saved Psyclist lots of £, to the FAQ list?
    Pete
     
  10. HERTSDRAINAGE2010

    Joined:
    9 Apr 2010
    Messages:
    5,949
    Thanks Received:
    838
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    He can, but it will cost £84 + vat.

    Andy
     
  11. 75pete

    Joined:
    9 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    362
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    In the post!
    Pete
     
  12. Agile

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    55,780
    Thanks Received:
    3,675
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There is no specification to put in the FAQ.

    In this case I had advised the OP about the pressure switch and in a home situation he would have been able to check and replace it.

    If he had properly advised that its in a bar at a hotel then I might have said something different.

    He was lucky to get someone out the same day. One of my clients was told he would need to wait a week!

    Tony
     

Share This Page