Satellite Question

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, I am a newbie here and don't know too much about TV cabling.

I have Sky+ and am looking at upgrading to HD.

Sky will send me out a box to install myself, but I thought I needed 4 cables running from the dish to the box for HD, am I wrong?

Secondly, I would like to run a cable to two separate bedrooms, as terrestrial reception is awful in our area. I would just put an old sky box in each room, with no card, just to get freeview.
How many outputs would I need from the dish? Could I share an output, would one cable be ok to each bedroom?

Thanks!!

Sponsored Links
You only need two cables for a HD box, not four. It is the same as two cables for a Sky+ box. The signal down each cable is both SD and HD. It's the box that determines what you see, not the number of cables.

The reason for two cables is that the HD and the plus boxes have two tuners: One tuner - one cable. Two tuners - two cables. Simples.

The LNB (the bit on the end of the stick on the satellite dish) for Sky+ and Sky+HD installs has four outputs. Two go to the main box - probably a living room in most cases - and that still leaves two spare so that Sky can try to sell you their multiroom package.

You can take the old box and connect up one of these two spare outputs from the dish. You'll only need to use one cable (connected to LNB input 1 on the Sky box) because you're using the box simply as a tuner. However, with no viewing card in the box you won't get many channels.

Talk to Sky about a Freesat card. It's a one-off cost of £20. There are no monthly subs. It simply switches on the satellite version of Freeview. The channel mix is slightly different. You get Dave and Five USA and a couple of other channels not on Freeview.