Sealed system boiler primary flow and return size

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
1st time on here so hi to everyone. I'm an electrician who on a recent contract had to design and install a bespoke control system for zoned central heating and hot water. Upon comisioning my bit of the system it became apparent that all was not well with the water side of the system. Layout is as follows:- 103 ish K BTU system boiler with own pump feeding 22mm primarys to the airing cupboard, total length (flow & return) 30M, head 2.5M. In the A/C is a 210L pressurised tank with a 22mm union boost pump feeding 4 x 2 port 22mm valves.

Valve 1 tank estimate 12 K BTU
Valve 2 upstairs rads 33 K BTU
Valve 3 Downstairs rads 15 K BTU
Valve 4 Under floor heat 8 K BTU

Total 68 K BTU

The problem is that with valves 2,3 & 4 open we are struggling for heat at all the rads (UFH set ok) and balancing is a nightmare. Call for hot water and the rads cool(restriction set for tank flow).

I suggest that 28mm primaries are needed from the boiler split through a 28mm manifold to feed the two port valves but opinion seems divided with other plumbers hence this post to see if anyone would like to comment.

If you are wondering why im involved the original plumber has been kicked of site for other reasons and I don't want to abandon the 70 year old + clients.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Do you mean they have fitted a second pump inline with the boiler's own pump to help circulation? If so this isn't really the best way to do it unless connected via a "low loss header" You're right, sounds like it should have at least 28mm flow/returns to the boiler and preferably the plan too (zone valves)

Any chance you could post some photos?

How is the underfloor heating connected?

How many radiators are there in total?

What make/model boiler is it?

Is it a sealed system?

Is there a system bypass?

The pipe size depends on the temperaure differential of the system.