Septic Tank

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have the following question from Building control. How do I go about finding this? House was build in 1900 and it was 2 semi detached now one 4 bedroom cottage. I am not sure where I would go for this information.

Confirm capacity of existing septic tank (in litres) and demonstrate the suitability of the existing outfall (see clause 3.8.5).

Sponsored Links
Either measure the height, width/length/diameter of the tank and work out the capacity from that, or get it emptied and ask the tanker driver how much has been removed. Under no circumstances make any attempt to enter the tank when empty.

What are the current outfall arrangements, soakaway, leach field, reed bed or straight into a watercourse?

Yes stay out of the tank deadly gasses.hughs right lxbxdepth do it in ft3cos I cubic foot is 6.2 galls.

Yes I work in the petrol business and know all about confined space entry (actually fully trained on this, so could do entry) but would not want to.
They are pushing for me to scrap the old tank, and install a new Mini Treatment Plant, as they tell me I don't need the drainage field then.

So much to look into.

Sponsored Links
I have no idea, don't know how it works. Can it go into a soak away?

Yes. That's why I was confused. Virtually every drop of water that goes into the system, needs to come out again. Cant understand why they said you wont need the drainage field, that final effluent has to go somewhere.

I would imagine they're asking if the existing drainage arrangements are still fit for purpose, some can silt or clog up, especially if the tank hasn't been maintained properly, and the final effluent has a high concentration of suspended solids.

A septic tank relies totally on settlement, and natural bacteria to break down the sewage, provided the tank is correctly operating and maintained, then the outflow is permitted to be discharged into the subsoil via a soakaway or leachfield.